Ratings based on 1,561 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver

No heat, couldn't open door.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
I can't believe y'all are asking for a review of this place. I couldn't open my door any of the times i tried to get in it. (Hotel staff had to come open it every time) There was no heat, it's early March in Denver, i had to layer up and pull blankets off other bed just to sleep. Room next door was smoking pot and came right into my room. Was worst experience ever. I even had to switch hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff very courteous and accommodating. New breakfast area very nice and spacious. Requesting room change due to smell and granted.
Cons: More outlets or power strips Not sure if I would recommend this hotel or not. Depends on who the person would be.
Location: Close to sons house. Close to freeway and downtown
No microwave in room as stated. Too few plugins. Could have lamp on but would have to unplug frig. Only able to plug in one lamp. Two other lamps available but no available outlets to plug them into. First room very smokey smelling. Plastic bag over smoke alarm. (No smoking rooms)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from denver, co

Broken shower, party nxt door started at 2 am

Posted Feb 27, 2017
When we arrived at hotel they received booking from expedia for a different date. Spent an hour on the phone with expedia in lobby of hotel trying to correct and get checked in for that night. Staff was very nice and understanding as that we were the second group that night who had wrong dates through expedia. Got to our room which was clean but sketchy. One of the lamp bulbs was out so limited light. When I got in shower the drain started backing up withing 2 mins so we didn't get to shower. At 2:00 am a very loud and drunk group got the room nxt to us and they partied until 5:00 am. They had friends down the hall and during those 3 hours repeatedly went in/out of their room and yelled down the hall at each other. We were unable to change rooms being told there weren't any available rooms. They said they would talk to the loud people but I'm not sure that it happened because they did not stop until 5 which was when we got up to hit the road again. The whole experience was bad! Booking through expedia, the hotel .... Never again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Would like a refund

Posted Feb 20, 2017
I booked the hotel because of the respected Ramada name. Worst hotel experience ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us! I can see that we have some opportunity for improvement based on your comments and your input will be passed along to the appropriate departments.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kearney, NE

Shady hotel near downtown denver

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Cheking in was fine and the experience leading up to the room wasn't all terrible. However, when we got into our room it was over 90 degrees due to the housekeeper not turning it down, barely any lighting, the outlets were falling off the walls, and we couldn't even open the window! The room NEVER got below the initial 90 degrees considering the a/c didn't even work!! Never staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by SJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently updating the rooms with new paint, furniture, beds, and we are also awaiting new heating and ac units. This information helps us keep an accurate list of what needs to be done in this room, and we are very sorry you had to experience the room in this condition. I hope after we have finished updating the rooms in the near future you give us another try.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

This hotel creeped me out. It is so outdated.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
I was surprised how this hotel is a Ramada. I have stayed in a few Ramadan, different states, even in Mexico and was always pleased. But this one, literally spooked me out. Very outdated and I only saw 1 staff member the entire day. No housekeeping, literally, no one. The restrooms, the wall looked like they were about to fall apart. My kid was bored off her mind cause there was no wifi. I don't want to be rude or anything, but I definitely will not be going back to this Ramada.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by SJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently updating the rooms with new paint, furniture and beds. Unfortunately we also had to update the wireless internet so I am very sorry that your family had to be without while you were here. I hope after we have updated the rooms and the area in the near future you give us another try thank you have a wonderful day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Crappy location, nothing to do in the area.
The hotel is completely run down. The furniture spread out around the place looks like it was picked up off of the street on a rainy trash day. When you take the elevator up to the second floor, there is furniture wrapped in plastic and stacked on top of each other right when the door opens, so you think you're in the wrong place. There were cigarettes under my bed. No where to plug in the coffee maker, so I had to bring it into the bathroom in the morning. No eggs for breakfast. The staff was nice. That was the only highlight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by SJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently updating the rooms and the area with new furniture, new paint, and new beds. We are working as quickly as we can to get the rooms into great shape. We offer a free hot breakfast that includes eggs, i am very sorry you could not enjoy this part of the very delicious breakfast. I hope in the near future after we have updated the rooms you will give us another try. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Stayed hear to be near the Pepsi center. Good hotel for the price. Minutes from downtown or other attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by SJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great feedback. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodland Park

Needs urgently a brush up

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Everything except breakfast
Location: Location is ok, hotel not
Location (close to lodo) is good, breakfast plentyful - but the rest? Heating not working, wifi not working, hotel floors look like a yard sale - filled with old and broken furniture, pool not available, door to the room lookd like it had been broken in recently. Invest some money inthe place or close it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by SJ, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently updating the hotel with new paint, furniture, and beds and we are working very quickly to make the rooms great thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gunnison Co

Proximity to the Pepsi center is the only good

Posted Feb 9, 2017
This facility was disgusting and dirty. Nothing clean about anything. Burn marks and water stains every where. Bathroom was awful and there was blood stains on the door. Bedding was clean but that is about it. The only feature that was nice was the shuttle to the Pepsi center but this facility is disgusting
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your feedback is much appreciated. I wanted to apologize that our property and location failed to meet your expectations. It is our goal to provide you with a comfortable and most enjoyable experience each time you stay with us. I have shared your comments with our team so we can improve. You may also be happy to learn that we are scheduled for a renovation in spring of 2017! We hope if you find yourself in this area again you will give us another shot.