Ratings based on 969 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Overpriced and not worth it!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
The Brown was terribly disappointing. There wasn't even enough space in our room (standard Queen) to walk around the bed, the food was absolutely not worth the price (grossly overpriced), we were "accidentally" overcharged on our bill by $700, and everything in the lobby (tea, happy hour, etc.) requires reservations - even if the lobby is over half empty. The only redeeming quality is Richard, the best massage therapist I've come across in a long time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear Hannah, We are saddened that your visit was disappoint. We appreciate the feedback you provided and have shared it with our team to ensure these are isolated occurrences. We hope to visit with you again to showcase a more enjoyable stay. Warm regards, Managing Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Lovely old hotel. Do stay here.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Loved the experience. It's expensive but worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Excellent staff provided great service and the room was very comfortable. The food at the Shp's Tavern was as good as ever, the prime rib is one of Denver's best. This iconic hotel didn't disappoint during our visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely, historic, updated hotel. Sophisticated.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: sophisticated, elegant, lovely place
Cons: smoky bar
Location: business location
I loved this hotel. It's historic and located right in the heart of the business district. The common areas are quite well kept and historically accurate. The rooms are well updated but also sophisticated, in keeping with the rest of the hotel. My only issue is the bar. While beautiful it's so smoky it's tough to take for more than a few minutes. Otherwise, excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Wonderful historic hotel/special atmosphere

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Great DT location could walk to 16th St shopping area- restaurants etc.
Terrific stay at this special hotel- friendly, helpful staff, wonderful ambience as pianist playing while we were checking in for the afternoon tea and then jazz trio continued after tea was over Ship Tavern had great food! Room was good sized and beds very comfortable - our room had a smaller bathroom but was fine. The location was great allowing us to walk DT Denver to other restaurants/ shops. Loved it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Interesting experience

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Not somewhere we would normally stay. Nice one time experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel we have heard about since childhood

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: History, old photos, historical style furnishingl
Cons: We paid for one day of wi-if, but couldn't use our devices for basic processes. Texts and emails were non-deliverable Shower water not warm enoug
Location: So conveniently located for sights we wanted to visit, Denver Art Museum, Colorado History Museum, and Larimer Square.
We tried everything! Ships Tavern was great ambience and food. I especially enjoyed that it was not noisy like so many restaurants. Many times I can't converse due to noise, so while I appreciated the piano, I could still enjoy conversation. Breakfast in the Ellington(?) room was elegantly served. Staff and valets were very pleasant.
4 out of 5
by Douglas from Parker CO

Quick night at Brown Palace

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
The Brown Palace is well kept for its age. You do need to keep in mind that being older the rooms are on the small side and the bathrooms are tiny. The atrium is very nice and they have a good afternoon tea served there. People not familiar with Denver do need to take into account that the location is only so-so and you have to be careful when walking around nearby. Certainly a nice stay overall and can give it 4 stars.
5 out of 5
by Joe from Colorado Springs

The Grand Dame of Denver

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
great stay in a very historic hotel. As a guest, you can take the historical tour of the hotel for free. They have an awesome cigar bar that is one of the last places in Denver that you can smoke cigars indoors. If you are staying in your room during the day and you are on one of the lower floors you may be bothered by the music playing for afternoon tea or happy hour. But it is piano jazz so it wasn't bad for me. Overall a great stay and great service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels