Ratings based on 961 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Lovely old hotel. Do stay here.

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Loved the experience. It's expensive but worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Excellent staff provided great service and the room was very comfortable. The food at the Shp's Tavern was as good as ever, the prime rib is one of Denver's best. This iconic hotel didn't disappoint during our visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely, historic, updated hotel. Sophisticated.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: sophisticated, elegant, lovely place
Cons: smoky bar
Location: business location
I loved this hotel. It's historic and located right in the heart of the business district. The common areas are quite well kept and historically accurate. The rooms are well updated but also sophisticated, in keeping with the rest of the hotel. My only issue is the bar. While beautiful it's so smoky it's tough to take for more than a few minutes. Otherwise, excellent hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Wonderful historic hotel/special atmosphere

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Great DT location could walk to 16th St shopping area- restaurants etc.
Terrific stay at this special hotel- friendly, helpful staff, wonderful ambience as pianist playing while we were checking in for the afternoon tea and then jazz trio continued after tea was over Ship Tavern had great food! Room was good sized and beds very comfortable - our room had a smaller bathroom but was fine. The location was great allowing us to walk DT Denver to other restaurants/ shops. Loved it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Interesting experience

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Not somewhere we would normally stay. Nice one time experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel we have heard about since childhood

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: History, old photos, historical style furnishingl
Cons: We paid for one day of wi-if, but couldn't use our devices for basic processes. Texts and emails were non-deliverable Shower water not warm enoug
Location: So conveniently located for sights we wanted to visit, Denver Art Museum, Colorado History Museum, and Larimer Square.
We tried everything! Ships Tavern was great ambience and food. I especially enjoyed that it was not noisy like so many restaurants. Many times I can't converse due to noise, so while I appreciated the piano, I could still enjoy conversation. Breakfast in the Ellington(?) room was elegantly served. Staff and valets were very pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent accomodations

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The Brown Palace Hotel mixes classic elegance and charm with modern amenities and maximum comfort and service. This was possibly the most comfortable hotel rest I have ever had. The staff were very polite and helpful. A fascinating and unexpected bonus was the historical tour of the hotel conducted by a local historian. We loved our stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Average hotel, not worth the expense.

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel offered a free tour if you were a guest.
Location: Denver is a fun and interesting city. The restaurant scene is amazing, and we went to the zoo, several museums, and local malls.
The room provided was a small, cramped room without much space after I opened the ironing board. I recognize this is an old hotel, but for the price, you can do much better if you want amenities. Internet was not included, nor was a fridge. The "door" to the bathroom was two small doors that closed in but it did not mute the sound(s) of other guests. The bathroom and shower water did not warm very quickly at all so we let the shower run for a good 5 minutes before we had something lukewarm. We heard very loud banging from other guests' doors later at night than was acceptable, which either means we had some noisy neighbors or the hotel doesn't have adequate sound buffering. I booked this as part of a honeymoon and thought the word palace indicated luxurious rooms, but I think we would have been much better off at any of the newer and much cheaper hotels nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Managing Director, Hotel Management
Dear Matt, We always strive to provide a flawless luxury hotel experience and regret that you were disappointed with the room amenities. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with our management team. I was dismayed to learn of the shortcomings you encountered with your water as well as the noise. Please be assured that your feedback is most valuable to us and will help ensure that your future experiences with us, as well as that of all guests, will be enjoyable and memorable. Warm regards, Managing Director
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic, charming hotel in convenient location

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: History, elegance, convenience and charm. Upscale amenities. Great bed.
Cons: Housekeeping came a bit late in the day and did not refresh towels until we asked. Bathroom was a bit small
Location: Very central to downtown Denver. Definitely rent a car to see sights outside the central core
Lovely hotel with historic charm. Located in downtown Denver one block from pedestrian only shopping street. Upscale amenities and very helpful staff. Food was great - my daughters especially enjoyed the traditional British tea they serve in the beautiful lobby every afternoon. Spa, fitness, parking and several dining options on site.