Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Not worth the money I paid.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: To Pay $179+ tax a night the furniture was old, scratched and dirty. The sofa bed was badly soiled and cushions and springs were flat.
Location: Hotel is in a great area for shopping and eating out.
The hotel room was in need of a makeover. The kitchen cabinets were dated and scarred. The ceiling had cracks that were poorly hidden with paint. The room had a couple of house flies in it. The pictures on the walls were scratched. The sofa bed was stained heavily and very uncomfortable to sit on. The furniture was dated a/warn and needed to be replaced. I have stayed at other Residence Inns that were beautiful and gave you a feel of true class and comfort. I would not stay at this hotel again unless it had a complete makeover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from deptford nj

Great Rooms

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The staff was very friendly and the facilities were great. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. I will be back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lousianna

Centrally located.

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Couldn't ask for a nicer stay. Staff very friendly An helpful. This was our second time to stay there. Each stay was 10 days. Not one complaint! Will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Deven S. , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback and rating of your experience with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Room smelled like pet urine and had multiple carpet stains throughout the room. Unfortunately only room left and I had prepaid. Furniture was very worn. Could not recommend at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Deven S. , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. We have notated your concerns and will look into them immediately. Thanks again for your feedback and choosing to stay with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eldersburg, MD

Not Very Clean

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: Cleanliness
I thought the staff was very friendly but the overall condition and cleanliness of the hotel was not very good. I am not 100 percent sure our room was cleaned from the last time someone stayed in that room. There were stains on the tables and it did not smell very good. The breakfast was decent. I will not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Deven S. , Hotel Management
Joe, Thank you so much for complimenting our staff on their service and hard work. As your concerns are extremely important to us, we will look into them. We hope that you would provide us another opportunity in the future to accommodate you in the near future. We would love to have you back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay started off with us getting bumped to a neighbor hotel because they were overbooked. We had booked a 2 bedroom suite, and was given a 2 queen bed room next door. They did comp the night stay at the other hotel, but the room wasn't comparable to what we wanted. After that, checked in the next day and had to wait 20 minutes cause it still wasn't cleaned. Ughhh. Our room was very dated, carpet was ripped in areas, drawers were broken and fridge leaked. So, can't say that we will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017
Thank you so much for rating your experience with us. We are so happy that we were able to assist you in addressing your concerns directly. We look forward to your return in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cesspool - literally

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: badly needs renovation
Location: Go to the new nearby Marriott Courtyard - excellent!
Room 134 had pundent oder caused by human urine soaking in the carpets. Hotel overbooked, so we refused to stay. This place is literally a cesspool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Deven S. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are looking into your concerns as they are important to us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Polite staff
Bed blanket had cigarette holes for a non smoking room. Room smelled like someone had smoked in the room. Beer bottle caps found between the sofa bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Deven S. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and rating your experience with us.
5 out of 5
by Stven

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Nice spacious room. Great location. Super friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by Marjori

What a disappointment!

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was such a disappointment! We paid for our two bedroom suite in advance using HOTEL.com. Upon our arrival we were told there was a problem with the suite we had reserved (persistent cat urine smell even after the room was cleaned). We were instead given a smaller room that did not meet our needs. The next morning when we checked out we were not charged for our room but we were not reimbursed the $206.00 we paid to reserve the suite. The Residence Inn By Marriott said they did not know how to return our money, since we'd reserved it on hotel.com. Upon return we contacted PAYPAL and we have not been reimbursed from them either...instead of feeling like we were comped a room for our inconvenience, it feels like we spent $206.00 for a room where we could not all even sleep together comfortably.