Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Great location. Great staff. Ver convent for rail and bus connections and walking into the town centre.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Derby Railway Station

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: It is a minutes walk from the train station and bus stops and is a 5 minute walk into Derby City Centre.
Cons: The whole building needs to be refurbished including what could be a beautiful grand staircase.
A faded old hotel in need of some TLC. I believe that some of the rooms have been refurbished but my single room was shabby. The bathroom was okay although it had a strange smell, but the shower needed replacing and was either dangerously hot or too cold. The carpet had bad staining on it and the furniture was very dated. The room however was very clean. The continental breakfast was quite poor with no meats or cheeses. It was a very reasonable price and you do get what you pay for. The positive side was the staff. All were very friendly from the receptionists to the Housekeepers and the lovely restaurant staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic comfortable accommodation

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Bit pricey for solid basic accommodation
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Good location for train and bus travel

Posted Dec 6, 2016
When I booked the hotel on line, I booked a single room with bath. The description said "single room with shower/tub. But on arrival I was told that none of the single rooms had tubs. I showed the receptionist a screen capture of the booking details, showing the description. I was told that, that meant that single rooms had either s shower or tub but none of their rooms had tubs (?). I had to spend an additional £70 to upgrade to a double room. I want happ and will not stay here again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Hotel in a good position, as very close to the train station and 15 minutes by walking from the town centre. Single room/ toilet very small! Funny smell in the toilet( due to chemical used to clean probably) very noisy ariator! Quite old fashioned with carpet carpet worned out! Not the best if you're likely to get dust allergy!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room okay but tired, TV signal weak and room kettle grumpy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value for money

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Ebookers
This hotel was excellent value for money, it was extremely clean, had a hair dryer,iron and free internet. My room was a single and a little old fashioned but I had everything I needed, I didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food but would definitely stay here again. It was a 2minute walk from the railway station and 10 minute walk to town centre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean, very convenient for what I needed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Value

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff, kettle in room with biscuits. Clean, quiet, room with comfy bed. Great breakfast. I have stayed here before, and I shall be staying here again when I visit Derby. I had quite a spacious ground floor room this time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean with free secure car park!

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Was a low cost convenient hotel, nothing outstanding, but the staff were very pleasent and helpful so overall a good stay. I liked the secure car park which was free.