Ratings based on 476 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and staff friendly and helpful.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Just think that you need a lift as 2 flights of stairs and long walk to the end of the corridor with 2 cases a lift would have been helpful. I would like to add that I left my favourite sunglasses in the bedside table and after speaking to a very helpful receptionist they were found and returned via post very happy to get them back and the receptionist handled it very well, I think she said her name was Thelma. Thank you, and overall a very nice stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Brilliant location 5 minutes walk from station. Staff were super helpful & friendly. Room a bit dated but clean & comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Pat

Hotel in convenient location for shops.

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient for all amenities. Great breakfast and friendly staff. Only complaint was noise of fan extractor in bathroom. Sounded like a tractor!hotel
3 out of 5
by David

Dubious management

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was booked through hotels.com because it stated pets stay free. On arrival told we would have to pay additional £10 a night extra for our dog, which after being told there was no exception paid begrudgingly. When we got to room we logged into Best Western site where it stated no pets allowed. We then logged into Hotels.com site and found again it stated pets go free. On showing this to reception they finally agreed to refund £10, but said some Best Western hotels do charge. It would seem management do not know hotel policy. Will not use this Hotel again if we have a pet with us, even then we would think twice if we did not.
3 out of 5
by Phillip

Convenient, friendly staff, good food

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
This could be a very nice hotel! Very convenient for town, off road parking, nice reception area, friendly staff! The problem was that once out of reception, the place looks a bit dated although that's not something that bothers me too much, sets you in the right mind for other issues. My room was cozy and clean but I was hit by a sewerage smell when I walked in which meant I had to shut the bathroom door and leave the extractor on for a while to clear it. The shower pressure was very poor so I ended up having a bath instead. I ate at the hotel on the first night and arrived at 19:15. There were no more than 5 people in the restaurant but it took until 21:20 to finally get all my courses (starter, main, dessert). To be fair though, the food was of good quality so it was worth the wait. Breakfast was good with one of the best selections of food I have ever seen! I cannot complain too much due to the price I paid for 2 nights but the place could do with a bit of TLC.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Sqeeky bed, but all in all exactly what we wanted and more Great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I wouldn't recommend this place

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
The room was shabby, bed linen was very old and along with the towels smelt of cooking- not nice. The shower had very little water pressure and the shower fixings were hanging off the wall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
room 235 has the worst shower in the world, apart good cheap hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
Room décor very tired looking and not of the best quality so would find it very difficult to recommend. Even though the price was cheap you'd expect a reasonable level of basic cleanliness. Breakfast service staff very good..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
No restaurant in this hotel!