Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice, romantic, room.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Location: Loads of walking. Lovely, pastoral views. Nearest National Park TI in Castletown, about 1/2 hour's drive.
Nice, quiet village. Feeling in room was relaxed. Staff seemed hurried, making one feel rushed when in the pub and dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Near Eyam, the historical site of the self-quarantined village during the plague.
Lovely spot, great staff, large and comfortable room, and the best minted lamb pie ever!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful food & warm welcome

Posted Jun 21, 2016
This is our second visit & certainly will be going back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Nice hotel convenient for places of interes

Posted Apr 30, 2016
The hotel accommodation was very good, clean and spacious room and good food. My only criticism was the folk singer who performed in the bar below our room. Although he sang well we felt that an 11pm finish rather than midnight would have been preferable particularly as breakfast was at 8.30 prompt with no flexibility!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Fantastic stay - we will be back!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Everything about our stay was brilliant. We were looked after by Jonathan who was really helpful and pointed out local points of interest and good places to eat. Our dog Ellie was made to feel equally welcome and thoroughly enjoyed her visit to the Peaks. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Bulls Head Inn and will most certainly be back! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful village pub in great walking country

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The pub is near to Chatsworth and close to both Bakewell and Buxton which we visited on a previous occasion. set in the beautiful Peak District park
Stayed here for one night in room 2 which is well proportioned with a great bed and with a fabulous new shower room. Loads of toiletries and robes with a peaceful feel in the room. The pub is the hub of the village and always busy. We ate in the restaurant which was really great, good sized portions and a good choice. The breakfast was lovely with a choice of cold and cooked. Would definitely recommend and will be coming back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Nice country inn in quite village.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Cons: Little could be faulted
Very good country inn; staff extremely helpful and courteous; room spacious and facilities excellent; food very good and a very good range of local beers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Cosy pub with comfortable rooms

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: It was just what we wanted
Cons: Maybe a schoice of blankets intead of a duvet?
We stayed in the 4 poster room for my birthday. Very comfortable bed (except duvet was too thick and too hot for me). Room was spacious and bathroom modern and clean. The room was comparable to a modern 4 star hotel. Diner in the Pub was excellent, lots of choice and not too expensive. I had pheasant which was excellent and my wife had lamb which was also very good. Total cost for two about £25. there was lots of choice and we could have eaten for less if we had wished. There were lots of good local beers in the bar. Breakfast (only at 8.30 "prompt") was also very good with lots of choice. There was a folk band on in the bar later which we missed but which sounded very good,. (we were in the room above)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Accommodations in The Peak District

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Great hosts and comfortable accommodations. Food was delicious.
Location: Located in picturesque Foolow. Centrally located for exploring the Peak District.
We had a very enjoyable stay at the Bulls Head during our visit to the Peak District. The hosts were attentive, friendly, and helpful. We enjoyed our breakfasts and themed-night dinners in the lovely pub, which seemed to be a local favorite as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Frome

Exceptional traditional B&B pub

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: The room was everything you need - nicely decorated and very clean. The pub food is very good and reasonably priced. All the staff are excellent.
Location: Great location as a base for exploring the Peak District. Within a 30 minute drive of most attractions and close to Chatsworth, Eyam and Castleton.
A really good traditional pub in a lovely village in the Peak District. The accommodation was very good, the manager and his team were extremely friendly and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced.The pub is very popular with the locals - not least attracted by the early evening special offers in the restaurant. It's a great base for exploring the Peak District - most of the key attractions are within a short drive including Chatsworth, the Heights of Abraham, Dovedale, caves etc. The surrounding countryside is beautiful with fantastic walks. I would highly recommend this pub if you want a good break in the area.