Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely friendly B and B with a lovely setting

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Janet and Nick were friendly and welcoming. The place was easy to find and in a lovely setting. Breakfast was delicious and the chooses were endless. Would definitely come back
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Amazing start to our Peak District travels

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Some nice little gift shops, amazing walks and lovely pubs.
Janet and Nick were amazing hosts and lovely to meet. We had the downstairs room, with its own entrance, which was a lot bigger than it looked in the photos. We arrived quite a bit earlier than our checkout time but Janet and nick were extremely accommodating. There was a lot of roadworks outside, making it extremely difficult to park on site, however they had already sorted this out and had parking sorted for us at the Peak car park, just around the corner. We will 100% be coming back here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staffs moorlans

We love it here

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: We had the garden room which was ideal for us as we take outer dog with us. It has a little patio area all of our with own entrance. The breakfast is great sets us up for the whole day. Lots of choice all freshly cooked to your liking. Plenty of vegetarian options. We have stayed here before and will return.
Cons: We love the room the location it suits us down to the ground for a days walking in the beautiful hills. We parked our car up on arrival and only use it when we leave. What's not to like.
Location: Castleton is very dog friendly great pubs and excellent for a days walking. Lots of little shops to browse in and cake and coffee shops too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leigh on sea

Did not dissapoint

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: A beautiful house and you will not find more helpful and friendly hosts than Nick and Janet .thank you for making our weekend so great .
Location: Brilliant walks ,great views ,lovely pubs and don't miss the caverns
We spent the weekend here a week ago .our first time in the Peak District to see a new part of the country . Did the ridge walk to mam tor on sat unfortunately heavy rain all the way with no view but enjoyed the trial .better next day with beautiful views all of our walk .we will certainly return to visit a wonderful place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halton Holegate

Visit to the mines

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The reception we received was excellent. There were lots of features likes exposed beams and stonework. The room size was excellent. Breakfast fantastic with a great choice. Will definitely be visiting again and recommending to friends/family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Shirley from Manchester

Birthday treat

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Had an amazing time and felt like a queen for the night in our beautiful four poster bed. Breakfast was lovely, I can see why they have so many awards for this. So friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us. Thank you for making this a very special stay
5 out of 5
by Simon from Kirton-in-Lindsey

Short break in the Peaks

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nick & Janet are very friendly and accommodating, they made us and our two children (9 & 6) very welcome, and the breakfasts were fantastic, we stayed two nights and they couldn't do enough for us!! We stayed in Castleton to enjoy the wonders of the Peak District, we went on a lovely walk through the dales and up Mam Tor and explored the wonders of the cavern systems of Treak Cliff.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Brandfird, Ontario Canada

A wonderful B & B in a glorious Derbyshire village

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
Nick and Janet were wonderful. full English breakfast plus lots of other stuff. toasters on each table and Janet introduced us to the other guest so it was very friendly at breakfast. Our host could not do enough for us. Gluten free bread for my wife. Wine glasses in the bedroom also a tea pot for me. Plates and a knife appeared when they noticed we had cheese in our room. Always willing to get what you needed. Great advice on where to go and a hand written map on how to get to Manchester airport the scenic route. Truly a wonderful couple. The four poster room is huge by English standards and well worth the money. Parking is tight and Nick was always there to help guide you in! A home away from home. Will be back again for sure.
3 out of 5
by thomas from USA

OK but not great

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
Not very welcoming on arrival; urged to have breakfast at a specific time, earlier than we wanted. Otherwise OK.