Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Lovely friendly and welcoming! Just perfect! The breakfast was delicious too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

George Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Lovely hotel. Great rooms if a little pokey but done up to a very high standard. Restaurant is very pleasant but more of the french cuisine variety. Superb hotel in lovely area. Was a bit pricey though so maybe just for treats!
5 out of 5
by Ian from Glasgow

Great hotel with nice staff and good food.

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with very friendly staff, spotless rooms and lovely bathrooms. You can also use the local outdoor heated pool. Beautiful countryside surrounds the town. Breakfast was excellent and is available until 11am!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Very comfortable hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Lovely staff, very attentive. Nice clean and comfortable rooms. The food served in the restaurant was delicious, I would recommend eating there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reading, uk

Great hotel, lovely food

Posted May 26, 2015
A good overnight stay is all about making it easy. First impressions - the building looks lovely, easy to find, easy to park. Welcoming receptionist and accompanied to room. We probably had one of the smallest rooms, but it was plenty big enough & very modern bathroom. We had booked dinner, which is a good idea as not much else available in the village. We enjoyed a drink in the lounge whilst deciding on our food. We were shown through to our table with artisan breads to start. We did 2 courses for a price so chose starters (goat's cheese cheesecake, mackerel) and mains (slow cooked rib or beef, rump of lamb) and it was all delicious. Read their sample menu for all the chefs tricks to make these dishes memorable. My husband had the cheeseboard, which was like a work of art and great portion for the price. The hotel staff are very available & approachable. Would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
by John from liverpool

a good choice

Posted May 11, 2015 on Hotels
comfortable and welcoming. bathroom refurbished to a high standard. staff professional and friendly costs were reasonable we did not use the bar but breakfast was excellent area beautiful
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with first class treatment

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Location, Food and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Hiking, pubs, sightseeing
I have stayed numerous times at this hotel and it never fails to disappoint. The food and the staff are first class and is located in one of the most beautiful parts of the Peak district. A must stay if you are looking at a break there!
4 out of 5
by Gemma from Leicester

Great Service

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed in this hotel for one night. I arrived around 11am and asked to store my bag as check in wasn't until later. The lady on reception checked my booking and informed me that as the room hadn't been used the night before, I was able to collect my key immediately. I didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was included in the price of the room and I was impressed with the selection; a self service continental breakfast with a choice of hot food that can be ordered from the waiting staff. I had a drink in the bar in the evening and found the prices to be average. The atmosphere was nice despite the fact that the bar is in the reception area. The facilities were clean and the room was a nice size. The floorboards in the room above creaked a little and I heard some noise from the corridor during the night but nothing that you wouldn't expect from sharing a building with so many other people. Toiletries, hairdryer, kettle, tea, coffee etc were all provided in the room.
4 out of 5
by J K from Ormskirk

Great break in the Peak District

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Loved our break,the staff were very attentive and room clean and properly serviced. The only criticisms (1) a vacuum cleaner was left in the corridor outside our room throughout our stay and (2) the housekeeping system seems to involve guests walking past dirty linen in the corridors after breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Pat from Colchester

Helpful staff, worth a visit

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for two nights and was very happy to have picked this hotel, perfect for what we wanted