Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great stay as always.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff are very accommodating.
Cons: the irons and ironing boards
Location: no comment.
I have stayed in this hotel now for the past 4 years and have enjoyed the experience each time. The hotel is ideally situated for me, right next to the train station. The staff are always extremely helpful and courteous always making for a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland. I am pleased to hear that you found the service from our Team helpful & courteous. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hallmark Derby Midland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Exceeded my expectations

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Firmer mattresses.
Wish I could have stayed more than 1 night. Great room, excellent staff, really convenient for the station (just across the road) and for walking into the centre. I stayed in Room 282. Big room, good view, really nice bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland. I'm glad to hear that you found our location convenient for your needs. Also, I agree about room 282. This is one of my personal favourites within the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North UK

Convenience for needs

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well. It was easy to find and the fact that there was safe car parking easily accessible was very go
Cons: Breakfasts were excellent, but we thought that the dinner menus could provide a greater choice of one or two substantial dishes after long journeys.
Location: We had come specifically for a family funeral, so it was not as much of a holiday weekend as we might have wished.
We had a warm, friendly and helpful welcome at reception with all our queries satisfactorily answered. Our room was quite spacious and again welcoming, with provision just where it was needed - seats, desk, dressing table, power points. Hanging space was good, quiet in operation and neatly out of the way. I was afraid that a city location so near to the station might have been noisy, but it was actually very quiet and very accessible for other city amenities, shops, restaurants and places of interest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland. I am sorry to hear the reason for your visit was not pleasure and hope everything went smoothly for you during your visit to Derby. I am glad to hear that you found our location convenient and that you had a warm and friendly welcome. We are launching our new Brasserie Menu on April 26th after feedback such as yours. Thank You for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Great hotel and location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Location: Matlock Bath is a great place to visit for the day only 30mins away on the train
Stones throw from the train station and only five minutes from the city centre what more could you ask for! The staff are really welcoming, the facilities are great - look forward to my next trip and staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland. I am glad to hear that you liked the convenience of our location for the train station and also that you found the service and facilities offered great. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland when you are next in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Handy for the station. Accommodated late check in. Good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland. I will ensure your feedback is passed onto the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

real hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
ticks all the right boxes, just what you need for a relaxing overnight stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland. I am glad to hear that you had a relaxing night stay and that we ticked all the right boxes for you during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland when you are next in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge

next to the train station, ideal

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: could not fault it
Cons: no
Location: close to town and next to train station and restaurants
only for 1 night, but the staff were helpful and polite turned up early but they took my bags in and looked after them so i did not have to carry them around very cheap and would go again without hesitation
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Paul (Reception), Hotel Management
Thank You Murdo for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland. I am pleased to hear that you found us competitively priced and hat the staff were helpful and polite. I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto them. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland when you are next in the area.
1 out of 5
by Andrew

Never Again!

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Never again. Massively overpriced, peeling wallpaper in the room, reception staff that look down their noses at you, rooms overlooking railway station and taxi rank are noisy, £8 for car parking,for which I have just received 3 X £100 fine notifications for supposedly using their car park without permission! I have the bill in front of me with the charges on. I work in Derby but will never stay in this place again.
5 out of 5
by jane&paul from hull

we defiantly stay again very posh

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
hotel staff excellent couldn't do enough rooms cleaned everyday asked when went for breakfast and evening meal just one thing second day please make sure when go half board you say it to them before you order 1stnight OK second night waitress was going to put tab on room she was brilliant as she rectified it everything was very good coming again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to feedback your experience here at Hallmark Hotel derby Midland. I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto the Team. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area. Paul (Reception Manager)
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to leave a 5 star review of Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland. I hope to see you again when you are next in the area.