Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Nice hotel close to the train station

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Slept well, good breakfast, walking distance to intu shopping centre, shower pressure decent and hot water
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Nice hotel close to the shopping centre.

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I had a pleasant stay at the hotel as I was in derby for a funeral. The staff were very professional and helpful. The only negative thing I would say is the bed being to soft.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Inn Derby. I am sorry to hear that the reason for your visit was not leisure and I hope everything went smoothly for you during the difficult time. I am glad to hear that you found the Team helpful and I will pass your feedback on regarding the bed to our Housekeeping Department who are currently refurbishing the bedrooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel, expensive parking

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Fantastic value hotel, great location between railway station and city centre. Shame car parking is so expensive (£8 per night) when there is plentiful on-street parking all around the hotel at a fraction of the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Inn Derby. I am glad to hear to hear you found us great value and that our location was convenient for your needs. We do now charge for the parking, and have lowered our daily rate to reflect this for residents stopping at the Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hallmark Inn Derby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenient to train and restaurants

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Very nice staff. Kept our luggage the next day while we explored town before our evening train. Comfortable rooms but could not control heater-much too warm so we had to keep the window open. No electrical outlet near any of the beds so I had to rearrange a bit to use CPAP machine. Good breakfast cooked to order. Had a lift so we did not have to struggle up stairs with suitcases. I'd stay again without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Paul (Reception Manager), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hallmark Inn Derby. I am glad to hear that you would stay again without hesitation. I have passed on your feedback to take into consideration during the refurbishment. Please feel rest assured if you do struggle to plug in your CPAP Machine we can issue an extension lead if required from Reception. I hope to see you again on your next visit to Derby
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Yorks

Locaion

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Location to Derby center
Cons: Better mattresses, better cleaning Standards
Location: Not too far to walk into the center of derby , good shopping center
Room Un-Clean smelly , beds very uncomfortable , tea cups dirty . lots of dust/hair in bathroom We had a sleepless night due to Very Noisy guests shouting arguing , and since the beds where uncomfortable we could`nt get to sleep.
2 out of 5
by Lynda

Won't be repeated.

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Although the bedding and bathroom appeared clean, the valance sheet on the bed base was heavily soiled, and there appeared to be stains on the carpet of my room. I also thought I had left something behind, so gave the reception a call. No one answered, so left a message as requested. No one has got back to me - however I have now found the object I thought I had left behind. It would have been courteous however for them to have got back to me?
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant staff and easy check in. Bed comfortable and room decent size. Wifi coverage was good as was the speed. Room condition a bit tired. All of the power sockets in the room were so close to the desk surface that no chargers would fit into them meaning no electronic devices could be charger during the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017
Thank You for leaving a review of your recent stay here at Hallmark Inn Derby. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, I have passed on your comments regarding the plug sockets which will be taken into consideration during our refurbishment. Paul (Reception)
1 out of 5
by MATTHEW

Not clean

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Top bed cover stains all over took down to reception then noticed bed valence al white stains on it !! Told reception she said someone would be up to change still waiting!!!!! room 212 Setee and furniture soiled like bed cover and valence
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017
Thank You for leaving a review of your recent stay at Hallmark Inn Derby. I am sorry that we failed short to meet your expectation during your recent stay. I have passed your comments on to our Housekeeping Department. Please feel assured that this is not the normal standard that we set & adhere to. Paul (Reception)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Clean and presentable and close to city centre

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Functional if not luxurious - bed reasonably comfortable and decent bathroom facilities. Nice and quiet - good place to stay for a hotel within walking distance of the city centre
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Paul (Reception), Hotel Management
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay her at Hallmark Inn Derby. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our functional Inn
2 out of 5
by John

Tired

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Tired hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017
Thank You for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Hallmark Inn Derby. Paul (Reception)