Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastleigh

Nice hotel local to town centre

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: It was nice and clean and close to town centre
We had a lovely stay with friends who stay same place too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good position for the city.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Clean and comfortable. Well placed for easy city access. Free WiFi. The main down side is the lack of parking. There is a public one across the road, but the staircases smell of urine and the pay machine warns you to be aware of hypodermic needles!
4 out of 5
by Carl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

A great place to stay

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Everything in the hotel
The hotel was convenient, accessible to places. Comfy and spacious room. A great hotel everything is fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not family friendly

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing. No access to the front entrance! And no carts to assist with luggage. The service was friendly but incompetent. The front desk was not prepared. They were unhelpful when we were disturbed in the middle of the night by drunk guests. You know you are in trouble when you are warned not to leave valuables in the room. (safes are available in the lobby and require assistance from the front desk to retrieve your stuff)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Dan the night manager was very rude
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Good Location & Price

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Price, location.
Cons: Check in/out procedure, bed was a bit tired.
Location: Near the city centre so very convenient for exploring on foot.
This a large hotel within easy walking distance of the city centre. There is limited parking onsite and both times I have stayed, this has been full. A large multi-storey is around 100 yards down the road however and the hotel offers a discount on the rate for its guests. Check-in was prompt and quick and I asked whether room service was available as I wanted to order some foor, the receptionist confirmed it was. When I got to the room, I rang for room service and waited around 5 minutes for someone to answer. After my order was taken, I was told it could not be processed as reception had not 'opened an account' for me and that I would have to back down to reception to do this and then ring my order through again. Back down to reception I went, opened the account and then the lift would not respond to the call button to take me back to the room. I was just about to give up and take the stairs when someone arrived in it and I was able to go back up. Eventually I got back to my room and my food arrived about half an hour later. Check out wasnt that great smooth either - the front desk was deserted when I got there and after a wait for 5 minutes or so, I had to go and drag someone out of their conversation in the back office to check me out. The hotel is in a good location and my previous stay was problem free so maybe I was just unlucky this time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient localtion, friendly staff

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Suited our requirements for visiting family & shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and you found our location ideal for shopping and visiting family. We look forward to your next stay with us Kind Regards Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Limited car parking spaces
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, apologies that you did not find our car park large enough. We do offer a discounted rate at Chapel Street NCP which is less than a five minute walk from the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us Kind Regards Hotel Management