Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by tat2jules from Diamond Harbour

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel looks tired ftom the outside but inside it's homely and the staff are everso friendly. it was a wonderful stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

great for base for walking

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: free wi-fi, free sweets, free dog biscuits, dog friendly
Cons: food slightly on ordinary side, check of rooms - thermostatic valves missing from radiators
Location: three walks straight from hotel door,
lovely weekend, only marginally spoilt by staff forgetting an order for a cup of tea, and preferring to serve locals ahead of visiting paying guests, standard pub grub menu
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

A lovely country hotel.

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Comfortable, good parking, helpful friendly staff.
Location: Country setting. Ideal for access to the Peak District.
Very helpful and friendly staff. The room was well equipped and comfortable. Enormous portions of good food on offer and overall a great stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hearty welcome here !!

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very lovely. Welcome dogs and go to lots effort with dog towels and biscuits plus own access handy with muddy boots n paws. Bed a little hard and decor bit dated so this is not for you if you want state of the art posh hotel but very homely, warm and welcoming with good priced wholesome hearty menu just what you want for a country inn. Bit on the pricey side for room at £360 for 3 nights but we had a fantastic time !!
5 out of 5
by Zhangdaihong

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super friendly staff and great service

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The people are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are kept well cleaned and tidy. Lovely atmosphere, especially with all the xmas decorations!
Cons: Maybe a bit more variety in the breakfast menu, other than that - It was perfect!
Location: We hiked at Stanage Edge, walked around Ladybower Reservoir, explored Speedwell Cavern and visited Castleton and the lovely fudge shop nearby.
Hospitality has been wonderful, could not have asked for more. During our stay, we went hiking on Stanage Edge, visited Ladybower Reservoir and explored one of the caverns nearby, it was very cold and icy but that added a bit of excitement to our experience! I wasn't going to purchase a hiking stick but thankfully I did, definitely worth buying if your planning to hike especially during the winter time! There is a sense of a community all around the area which is great! Loved every part of it and I shall return!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Comfortable hotel in beautiful countryside

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: The helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.
Cons: More soap could be supplied in the bathroom. If space allows, a lift would help people with mobility problems.
Location: Conveniently sited for Ladybower dam and Blue John and other caverns. Close to Sheffield and in good walking country.
I struggled with two flights of steep stairs on arrival but the proprietor carried our suitcase and we were quickly offered an alternative room on the first floor. One flight of stairs was manageable. Restaurant staff were polite and very helpful except one, who, when asked, declined to take our order. In general, the facilities were as anticipated and the service good.The helpfulness of the staff and the clea
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

The Inn in the Peaks to stay.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Setting, location, friendly and value for money.
Cons: Décor could do with a bit of tlc - but hey still very acceptable.
Location: Set in the heart of the Peaks - what else would you want.
A country inn that offers good accommodation, excellent food, first class service, very reasonable prices along with a warm welcome and homely atmosphere. And set in a ideal situation to explore the surrounding countryside. We definitely recommend the Millstone Inn but, if you are expecting top notch then stay away, only come to enjoy the setting and warm welcome that is given, extending from the breakfast service to the evening ambience. Brilliant highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Llanddwyn from North Wales

Good accomodation for walking in the Peak Disrict

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was clean although the tea cups in the room needed washing. Good choice of food and hand pulled ales. Excellent breakfast. Not within walking distance of the town but the location is superb with a good view over the Hope valley.
5 out of 5
by Elliott from Durham

Really enjoyed my stay

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
Really enjoyed my stay here, lovely little country hotel with a warm friendly welcoming feel to it. Food was excellent. It's the little touches that will make me stay here again. I.e - checking out before breakfast and they offered to make me a take out coffee and a bacon roll without asking. Will definitely be staying here again. Also nice to see this hotel was dog friendly.