Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Staff

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Nothing was too much trouble and it was done with a smile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The best place I've stayed at in the area!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location for outdoor activities.
Great place in the peak district. Super friendly and very accommodating staff. The room was super clean and had all the amenities I could have dreamed of (Coffee, Fresh milk, tea, ... fruit basket and biscuit). easy and free internet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rugeley

Nice old building with good views.

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The situation, the staff.
Cons: One very minor quibble - there was no bath or shower mat.
Location: The Torrs and Millennium Walkway in New Mills is well worth a look.
We had a pleasant time at the Pack Horse on our short stay there. It had everything we wanted at a reasonable price with good food and drink, pleasant and very helpful staff and a clean and comfortable room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Fantastic and friendly

Posted Feb 1, 2017
We stayed one night here and loved every minute. The staff are all super friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and well stocked with everything you need (decent tea, coffee, toiletries, bottled water) and for an added touch, they brought a fresh bowl of fruit to the room as well. Breakfast was faultless. And all this with that beautiful view out the window. Ideal place to stay for a relaxing break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC

One of the best places I have stayed in

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Lovely staff, really good food and clean and comfortable rooms, what more can you ask for!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A gem just away from Stockport

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely pub with 12 rooms which are fantastic. Everything you could want in a room with some nice little extras such as a bowl of fresh fruit and some sweets. Food was great and very filling. Staff are very attentive
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All you needed for a great weekend away.

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
A very comfortable stay in a lovely place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Country Pub with extensive views

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel was very clean and well maintained whilst the staff were all very friendly and polite. Breakfast was very good and cooked to order.
Cons: The pub food in the evening was disappointing (mass catering and an over reliance on the freezer) though breakfast was very good.
Location: We arrived in the dark and stayed only one night but I would imagine walking is the main attraction.
This is a country pub with rooms, probably ideal for walkers as its fairly out of the way. I only saw our own bedroom which was well furnished, very clean and amply supplied with refreshments as well as toiletries. The standard was higher than I was expecting for a pub but I do doubt the need for the inclusion of a trouser press. Our room was warm but the restuarant was a little on the chilly side in the morning. The pub is well run but please do something about the lighting in the bar and rerstaurant - its unbelievably bright and intrusive which does little for the atmosphere. I think they need to 'shrink' the menu' quality rather than quantitiy is always bes in my opinion. This comment does not apply to breakfast which was in a different league.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kilmarnock

Lovely surprise

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Stayed for a family 18th and loved the standard of the inn. Only criticism is a bit on the pricey side at £80 single occupancy for 1 night and £100 for double room. In saying that very high standard with nice touches like fruit bowl and bottles of water in room.