Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crittenden, KY

Beautiful Inn with Plenty of Charm & Personality

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: The location, cleanliness and food (including breakfast)
Location: You are less than 40 minutes from Manchester and 30 minutes from Ashford-in-the-Water. Lots of countryside to view!
My family of four stayed in this lovely inn at the end of December 2015. We were looking for a place to stay between attending a Manchester United Football game and visiting the English countryside. This location was perfect! It allowed us to stay out of the city in a more relaxed and less commercial inn, so that we could truly get a feel for the area. The staff was very welcoming when we arrived around 9pm that evening. We took advantage of the restaurant one evening and my sons and husband would highly recommend the fish and chips to anyone that asked!! The inn was very clean and the beds very comfortable. Unfortunately, we had to split into two rooms that weren't close to one another since there were four of us, but it was no problem at all since we have teenagers. They were able to stay on their own and enjoyed their room as well (with twin beds). I also have to say, I enjoyed waking up and looking out of the bedroom window to see the sheep in the early morning. It was everything I imagined!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancaster

Friendly Staff and good food

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Very accommodating staff and excellent hotel, food was good too, pub grub rather than restaurant but very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Weekend Break

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Room was lovely & spacious nice little extras fresh fruit, bottled water, amazing selection of twinnings tea etc. Wonderful staff Good selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, fresh juices, tea, coffee, & full English breakfast etc. We ate in the restaurant every evening food was delicious very large portions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by S from Cambridge

Great stay and will go back again soon

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel and attention to detail like a flask of fresh milk in the room was great. Also fresh fruit in the room, and a great view from our windows. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Can't fault it.

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The view from a back room (not going to divulge its number because it's still a very lovely room) would benefit from some foliage screening.
We've stayed at the Pack Horse before - and we will do again. It's our first choice whenever we're in the High Peak.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff and a warm welcome

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on Hotels
Extremely friendly and helpful staff, they made us feel very welcome.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Simon from Rogiet

Good room - food possibly gave me poisoning

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Clean room and all good. Had a burger however which was red in the middle and smelled a little odd which gave me terrible stomach ache and worse...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mario from Schüpfen

Nice place and friendly staff

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Top Hotel with great view and very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Redditch

Lovely Pub

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: Superb attention to detail by staff who care about their business. Room very clean. Good food. Pleasure to stay here.
Cons: Slightly softer beds
Location: Nice remote location, just a few minutes from the town of New Mills
I only stayed for one night on our tour of the Peak district, but wish it had been longer. The place was amazing and I can highly recommend this location.