Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful on the outside

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The hotel is impressive from the outside. The staff were reasonably helpful and friendly. Dinner and breakfast were also of a good standard. Where it falls down is that the hotel needs a refresh. It's a bit grubby and needs some care and attention to detail to get rid of the cobwebs and the build up of dust and grime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for an overnight

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The room was nice, tv didnt have a controller. The Spa was out of action, most of the reason I booked the place. The bar staff were less than attentive, the food I had was mediocre at best, for a place which advertises fine dining, it was hardly that. When I went to check out, my bill, which should have been for a meal and a pint was clearly for someone elses tab. Just a few things which mount up to coming away feeling not that happy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

nothing like the pictures

Posted Jan 30, 2017
signage to hotel difficult to find and parking The interior of our building was tacky plastic looking furniture,something you may find in a bad hairdressers. The hallway was dirty and shabby. our suite was cleanish but very in need of redecorating and updating. our headboard was held together with staples. bar staff poorly trained and more interested in stocking up than guests .bar left unattended frequently. food was very nice as where most of the staff. The whole place needs updating removing the gold painted hairdressers feel and adding more natural wood and textile . overall its just lacks life and taste. the spa is shut
3 out of 5
by allison

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from derby

Terrible. Management messed up my total booking no

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Ebookers
Herrendus they couldn't Evan make a booking correctly No cancellation after finding out the facilities all. CLosed for maintenance but no advanced warning
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Risley hall spa Derby

Not the best stay....

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Not great, spa closed ... TV got no signal so un watchable tv .. towels in bathroom soiled really bad... check out rushed and not even asked "how was your stay " "all ok?" #basics
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Pool and Tired room

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
This place is (very) Tired. The windows don't open, the bathroom was tiled by a blind man, and the brass taps have never seen Brasso. The furniture has scratches and scrapes, and the cold tap runs hot for 5 mins before becoming luke warm. The walk in the dark from car park to reception is dangerous, with potholes and puddles. The big lights shining on the outside of the hotel, lit up my room like Blackpool Illuminations. But unforgivable is that I'd booked Risley Hall because they advertise a pool and spa. I was given 3 different reasons by three different receptionist on three different days, but according to a colleague, it's been closed for refurbishment since March 2016. There was no offer of compensation. The only reason for me to book Risley Hall was the pool. To be fair, I didn't sample the bar, or the restaurant or the breakfast as I was working 12 hour days whilst in Derby, but at least the kettle worked. Yeah.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is an old hall and I can appreciate old buildings and what comes with them, however, this building has a damp problem resulting the bar area and reception smelling like a pack of wet dogs have taken up residency. My room was located in a block that was once used as a borstal and it still resembles that. The decor of my room was tired and grubby and it could have been a cleaner. Access to the spa is no longer permitted. The sitting area in my suite contained a very large tv cabinet but sadly the tv was missing. The staff are very helpful and pleasant and I admire them in working in a hotel that must receive many complaints. The discussion in the bar on the 1 evening I went into it was trying to ascertain who had the dirtiest room, with talk of mould, broken toilets etc The room next to mine which was not secure and was being used as a junk room did not make for raising a smile when I passed it each morning!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be very special

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel WOULD be lovely with some customer care, health and safety issues rectified and maintenance in the rooms . I had a accident that could have been very serious for someone older,I was not offered any first aid when I reported the accident and it could very easily been avoided by the placement of a 'mind the step' sign placed on a door , I have been home two days and not even a courtesy call to check I am ok , otherwise a lovely hotel