Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Goog hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Lighting in the room needs to be bright. Carpets need a little more cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birkenhead

Nice Stay

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pleasant stay at the hotel, but slightly disappointed that the pool was not heated in the leisure facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Wouldn't visit again! The hotel was not clean, especially the carpets. The hotel looks tired and is need of some Tlc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but in need of refurbishment

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Nice location but the hotel needs some good refurbishment. The all place feels quite tired. The spa is really small and doesn't reflect what showed on the pictures, needs some refurbishment and modernization.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gary from Leek, UK

Disappointed

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Disappointed with this stay for various reasons. The leisure suite was poor. The steam room was out of order, the Jacuzzi only half provided wth jets, not very deep, and over chemically, the pool was too cold, and the changing rooms neec a refurbishment. The floor outside of our room had an inredibly squeaky floor, and as nearly everyone had to pass along this corridor we were subjected to a lot of disturbance. However the biggest disturbance came from smokers standing in tne courtyard and talking loudly at 2 and 3 in the morning. If you stay at Shrigley Hall ask for a room which does not overlook the courtyard. Plus point is the restaurant. We had an excellent dinner and breakfast, with good service at night, but a bit short staffed in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel location and surroundings.

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: Location, leisure facilities and helpful staff
Cons: Room preparation / cleanliness and some refurbishment works to general corridors etc.
Location: Set in rolling countryside, overlooking Stockport / Manchester, ideal country get away for Peak District walks or shopping trips in Manchester
Superb hotel in panoramic settings with golf course and lakes. Staff very helpful / polite and the grandeur of the hotel make the experience memorable, but the room we occupied left something to be desired, and took the shine off the stay. The hotel market themselves on premium accommodation and is reflected in the room rates, but to be honest the room we had, was looking tired and was on par with the national chains charging out at considerably lower prices. The restaurant food was tasty but could have provided bigger portions, especially the starters! Overall the location, surroundings and grandeur of the environment are the pulling attraction rather than the facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Cons: Bed Linen???
This is not our first visit to Shrigley Hall. This was just a short visit of one night and suited our purpose. My only complaint is that I prefer sheets and blankets rather than a duvet. However all hotels appear to do this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Grimsby

Superb hotel in the countryside.

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: The staff made the weekend, nothing was too much trouble whether in the bar, restaurant or leisure facility.
Cons: The website, does not cover all the rooms. Have a quicker way of reaching the car park from reception, too far up steps.
Location: Whaley bridge just a very short drive, we went to Buxton which took 30 mins but well worth the drive.
2 nights proved just right for a long weekend. Plenty of time to use the steam room, Sauna,whirlpool and swim pool all inclusive in the stay. Ultimate cleanliness throughout,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Staff

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Staff not trained nor seem interested in guests need greater efforts to be managed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nick

Schöne Aussichten.

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Schönes Hotel, sehr gediegen und ruhig gelegen.