Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Beautiful Derbyshire rural village

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Chatsworth was our focus. We wish we had had time and equipment to do some walking in the area which is beautiful .
From the moment we arrived in Bakewell to the time we left, we encountered friendly and helpful people. Since we had no car, we needed extra help to get around and we always received that help. The Farmyard Inn in Yourlsgrave was a delight. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The owner was cheerful and helpful and the food was exceptional. We would return anytime to this lovely village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, friendly and well located.
Seven of us stayed at this inn halfway into our journey of walking the Limey Way. We had intended to arrive much earlier but it took us much longer than expected. As a result we missed our table reservation for an evening meal and the deadline for food being served. However, the staff were very accommodating and the chef stayed longer to cook us some delicious food. The staff were most helpful and the rooms very comfortable and welcoming. Also an excellent breakfast. We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huntingdon

Lovely B&B, Great location

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The rooms I'm led to believe are a converted stable block hence our room name and not a number, we liked that, and it was also really cosy.
Cons: The bed was too soft and creaky, apart from that nothing.
Location: Bakewell and the Peak District for walking or cycling.
My partner and I recently stayed for one night, we stayed in the "Pig Sty", it was a lovely room, more than adequate for what we wanted, spotlessly clean, nice bar area, a real fire that we really liked. The only issue was the bed, it was too soft and we weren't keen, but we would stay again, and we would highly recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 8, 2017
Friend and welcoming staff. Nice little stopover for our family of four on our trip to "the North".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Farmyard inn

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Pleasant atmosphere
Location: Good near to Bakwell and ideal location for keen walkers
Excellent staff food and hospitality would recommend it and would stay there again also ideal for different events in the area including Chatsworth House
5 out of 5
by Craig

Great for a few days in Derbyshire countryside

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Brilliant! Beautiful venue, friendly staff, great food and beer. Just go and enjoy it!
5 out of 5
by Maurice

Perfect Country Pub

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Everything about the pub and rooms is very good indeed. Lovely friendly and helpful people, very good food and drink, comfortable, nicely furnished and clean. And very good value. The pub itself has a great atmosphere - I wish I had a local like this. Youlgrave is a very nice village with good walks by the river and along the limestone trail. Difficult to find any fault - so I shan't. If you want a good country pub this is it.
4 out of 5
by John

A warm welcome, lovely landlady, excellent food

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable room, lovely and warm on arrival. Sue the landlady is just wonderful; a treasure! Good choice of tasty, excellent value evening meals (we've already booked another two meals). The village provides an excellent base for walkers and strollers alike. Three pubs, shop, deli/cafe (opening soon), bakery and such friendly locals, my favourite place in the UK!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Warm and friendly place to stay

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Stayed for two nights in the family room with two boys under 10. Room was perfect for us with two big beds, located slightly away from the main pub. Lovely warm welcome, delicious breakfast and host Sue was super accommodating. Great location for exploring the Peak District and lovely place to come back to after a day outdoors - log fire and delicious choice of evening meals. Really busy so booking a table is advised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Our stay at the farmyard

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Welcolming
Cons: No
Location: Beautiful location, Bakewell, Buxton,
A lovely location, very friendly and helpful staff, a good menu, great food