Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wigan

Peak district

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: A selection of cask ales
Cons: Opening at lunch time
Location: Set in the countryside with several nice villages nearby to visit
Very friendly staff , great food in lovely rural surroundings
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stourbridge

GOOD HOTEL CLOSE TO MAJOR TOURIST TOWNS

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Cons: Have walking routes prepared for guests
Location: Walks and visit ourist towns i.e Bakewellti
Lovely people, great food and good beer. Excellent walking in area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melton, Suffolk

Cosy traditional pub with an open fire

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Location and friendly pub atmosphere
Cons: A more powerful shower
Location: Bakewell, Buxton and Matlock were all very close by, very beautiful towns with lots to do and see.
Brilliant 3 night stay, Sue and her team were very welcoming, comfortable room, amazing food, great location with wonderful scenery. A great relaxing break. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Nice hotel.

Posted May 18, 2016
Stayed 2 nights. Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Very small bar...tables close together so conversation and eating can be heard by all. I whispered a lot. Bar menu good. Long wait for food but its cooked well. Bar expensive. (City prices).ran out of gin. I would have preferred to be closer to Bakewell town centre as we are not walkers. I like to shop. (I should have checked before booking) Not much to do in Yulgrave otherwise. It's a very tired looking village. Room was small but clean. Breakfast was lovely. . too quiet in breakfast room. We had to whisper. I know the life story of the lady at the next table. We visited Chatsworth house..very impressive.
5 out of 5
by Linda from Wirral

Superb

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Sue was a gem so welcoming wonderful lady upgraded us at no extra charge evening meal eaten by the log fire food excellent breakfast following day superb hot & tasty nothing any trouble would return again tommorow if we could wonderful location stunning village & views
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family Holiday

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
This is a super quaint Inn and pub in a picturesque village. A bit tricky to find. But very warm welcome once we got there. The food in the pub is just excellent and a very nice breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible checkout

Posted Feb 21, 2016
When handing the key back at checkout. I was asked to pay another £70.00. Even though I had paid for a family room for two adults and two children. Apparently I had only paid for two people. My itinerary clearly stated four people. I felt uncomfortable and vexed.
4 out of 5
by James from Banbury

Great location

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
We had a walking weekend, lots of nice walks on your doorstep, and a lovely pub to go back to. Food was nice as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottinham

typical English pub great

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: the atmosphere so comfortable
Location: Derbyshire enough said
friendly clean great food and staff we definitely will be going again
5 out of 5
by Richard from Weybridge

A good place to stay

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Delightful hostess, good food, comfortable room & lovely surroundings. We highly recommend it.