Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Remote Peak District pub with open fires

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The food, good beer, open fire and location. Good hot bath with slightly peaty smelling water.
Cons: The decor is circa 1993 but that brings its own charm.
Location: Splendidly remote feeling yet within easy access to good walks and Buxton.
The Stanley Arms proved to be a great place to stay: the excellent food and roaring fire was very welcome after a day out walking in Peak District rain and the staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. The countryside around the pub was a bit of revelation, as we've tended to go to other areas of the National Park before. Macclesfield Forest, Shining Tor and Chrome Hill were particularly wonderful. The room was spacious and the water hot- we even got a small decanter of sherry and chocolates. Would return to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from heywood lancs

excellent hotel country setting

Posted Apr 4, 2017
We had a very pleasant two night stay at the Stanley Arms. the double room was well equipped and tastefully decorated to a high standard. The full english breakfast was plentiful and cooked to perfection, and also came with a non glutton option. they had an excellent menu including glutton free options so we dined in on both evenings. To sum up we had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this establishment. Thank you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff, good food excellent for walking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: very comfortable rooms
Cons: internet in the rooms
Location: it's located in the country side, nothing around, but that's not a problem when you have a car.
Staff were very friendly and the food was top class and very good portions served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Lovely hotel in heart of Macclesfield Forest

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Ebookers
Good welcome with friendly staff and proprietor, good restaurant and comfortable room with good facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from j

A wonderful welcome

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Whilst only staying an evening my mum and I were treated so well We wished we were staying longer We had travelled to see granddaughter/ great grandaughters Christmas concert and in the evening our family joined us for a meal All 6 of us were well looked after and A lovely breakfast next morning completed our stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A charming country hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
A remote and fantastic country pub with well appointed rooms, great for walkers and cyclists as right in the heart of the dales
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peak District

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Good position for traveling in the area. The Clough Room is right next to quite a noisy road which can disturb if you are not used to traffic. Bathroom could do with some makeover. Hosts friendly. Would question price quality ratio. Evening meals good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We loved this place

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed staying here for 2 nights for my nephews wedding. It was situated between the church and the reception, but rather remote and we needed our sat. nav! It was comfortable and friendly and we would certainly recommend it. No wifi though, but that could be a good thing too!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Get away from it all

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
One night stay, would definitely return if in the area