Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The hotel room was completely remodeled and modern. It was small but cozy!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice😊

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Loved it only thing I'd change is I just wish it was a bit more roomy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from papillion, nebraska

nice hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Cons: the room we stayed in had two queen beds and could have been a little larger, bathroom very small
Location: close to adventureland park and casinos
very clean room and updated, very comfortable bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2016 by Kristi General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback from our guest is very important us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the Comfort Inn Altoona we pride ourselves on providing excallent accommodations, and going above and beyond for our guest. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stranded I De sMoines

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: rate and location
Location: plenty of stuff to do close by and resturants
While stranded in town I had to have an affordable place to stay. So after doing some checking I stayed here. It was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. All in all a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2016 by Kristi General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that we could accommodate you while you were stranded. The staff prides themselves on going above and beyon for our guest. I enjoy hearing that we were able to provide you a great experience. We looking forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but the room was very small and cramped

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: friendly staff very helpful. Nice overall appearance. Nice breakfast area and well managed.
Cons: Room size and counter storage space in rooms
Location: casino, shopping, Pro Bass store, State Fairgrounds
The overall facility is very nice and pleasant but the room was very small and cramped and not worth the cost charged. The bathroom and vanity have no counter space and offer no privacy from the rest of the room. There is a lack of counter space overall to set things down. No room to close the bathroom door without stepping out of the way to allow door to swing shut. Would not rent this room again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and newly remodeled

Posted Dec 22, 2015
Pros: Free wi-fi
Location: Close to interstate 80, Adventureland and Prairie Meadows casino
We stay close to the casino and this is about as close as you can get. It used to be a Settle Inn which was getting pretty long in the tooth. They have remodeled the whole place. We had a large room and bedding was wonderful. They provide two types of pillows, one harder and one softer. Nice touch. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard but it was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Older building with pleasant staff.

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Pet friendly!
Cons: GPS got us within a mile. Then, we called hotel for further instructions.
We chose a standard queen room & wish we had upgraded. Being an older facility, the rooms are a bit small for an extended stay. Staff was very professional & friendly. Breakfast room was clean &inviting. We will stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa City

Right distance from Adventureland, good price

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: Advantageous price. Quietness allowed good sleep on the weekend night we happened to be there.
Cons: Maintenance. Fix dead lightbulbs, mend corners of blackout curtain.
Location: This is an amusement park/casino location, but about 1/4 mile outside the main attractions.
This hotel is in the area of a big amusement park and casino in a Des Moines suburb. But it is set enough apart from them to be outside the hubbub. It is a refurbed Settle Inn property. Had a small defects such as light bulbs burned out in corridor. But it was a good night's sleep for us at a highly competitive price. Does it get noisy when big groups book? Can't say. All I can say is it worked out well for us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Don't Stay HERE!!!

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: the staff was generally friendly. The breakfast was OK.
Cons: CLEANING --- real cleaning - not just superficial -- and in EVERY ROOM -- That means retraining of cleaning staff.
Location: The hotel is conveniently located near many restaurants and near Adventureland
My husband spent the weekend in Altoona Iowa at the Comfort Inn. We have stayed at comparable facilities (three star) in Altoona, in DesMoines and in other locations throughout the U.S. NEVER have we experienced what my husband experienced at this property. The entrance to the property has some damage and a pole is propped up with a board. The room was FILTHY. An inch of dust on anything that was not 'typically cleaned' including the headboard to the bed. The bathroom had feces on the wall and a gross black ring in the toilet. The toilet holder was black from mildew/rust/mold. While the hotel staff was very nice and offered to change his room, my husband pointed out that the problems were clearly systemic as dusting that has not been done for months is not an isolated room problem. When the cleaned the room following his complaint, the bathroom was scrubbed, the dust was still untouched. The manager of the property only offered a 10 percent discount on a 'future stay' -- That is NOT going to happen! They are a relatively new property (Comfort Inn purchased the hotel from a previous owner) but they can't expect to keep their rating and status with these kinds of systemic inadequacies!!! The room, frankly, was GROSS...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Linda I want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I do apologize that your husband was not happy with his stay. I do remember talking with him, and it was to my understanding he was satisfied with our conversation. These issues have and are being addressed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Nice hotel close to Adventureland

Posted Aug 5, 2015
We had stayed here a few years ago, when it was under a different brand. Nice updates. Room was clean, and comfortable. Nice variety of breakfast foods on morning buffett. We could smell fresh paint somewhere close by, but it wasn't overwhelming, and I give the new management credit for all of their updates. We'll be back the next time we are in this area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
J I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your great experience. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon.