Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice😊

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Loved it only thing I'd change is I just wish it was a bit more roomy
3 out of 5
by Molly from North Liberty

Ok for the price

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
We were there for just one night. The room was very comfortable but we initially had trouble with the keys, the TV didn't work and the shower wouldn't turn off completely when we were done in the morning. Not enough to scare us away - we'd stay again, but check the shower first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Molly Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Guest feedback is very important to us and helps in our efforts to continue to make our hotel better. I apologize for the troubles with the keys and TV. I hope that you do choose to stay with us again so we can show you a great stay with excellent service.
3 out of 5
by Debra from Cedar Falls

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here with co-workers as we were taking a class at the Iowa Correctional Institution for Women at Mitchellville. The hotel was only 6 miles away, but we had easy access to the interstate for shopping in Des Moines when we were finished with work! We ate and shopped in Des Moines, which was only 15 minutes by car from our hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of my entire team and I we would like to thank you for writing a review. We are so glad that you got to enjoy some good food and shopping after taking class during the day. Thank you for your business we hope to see you in the future.
5 out of 5
by jim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Cindy from Grand Haven, MI

Horrible Hotels.com Experience

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
I was turned away at midnight after traveling for 12 hours with my 10 year old daughter and my lab. I had reserved a pet friendly room but was never informed of the weight restrictions for the dog. This is a major flaw in the Hotels.com booking system. To add insult to injury, Hotels.com is refusing to refund my money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from papillion, nebraska

nice hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Cons: the room we stayed in had two queen beds and could have been a little larger, bathroom very small
Location: close to adventureland park and casinos
very clean room and updated, very comfortable bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2016 by Kristi General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feedback from our guest is very important us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the Comfort Inn Altoona we pride ourselves on providing excallent accommodations, and going above and beyond for our guest. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stranded I De sMoines

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: rate and location
Location: plenty of stuff to do close by and resturants
While stranded in town I had to have an affordable place to stay. So after doing some checking I stayed here. It was clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. All in all a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2016 by Kristi General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am so glad that we could accommodate you while you were stranded. The staff prides themselves on going above and beyon for our guest. I enjoy hearing that we were able to provide you a great experience. We looking forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but the room was very small and cramped

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: friendly staff very helpful. Nice overall appearance. Nice breakfast area and well managed.
Cons: Room size and counter storage space in rooms
Location: casino, shopping, Pro Bass store, State Fairgrounds
The overall facility is very nice and pleasant but the room was very small and cramped and not worth the cost charged. The bathroom and vanity have no counter space and offer no privacy from the rest of the room. There is a lack of counter space overall to set things down. No room to close the bathroom door without stepping out of the way to allow door to swing shut. Would not rent this room again.