Ratings based on 848 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Older Hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: The outside and lobby are nice. My son loved the free cookies.
Cons: A good cleaning and some paint to freshen it up. Maybe use more fabric softener so hair doesn't stay stuck to the pillowcases and sheets.
Location: The hotel is south of Des Moines off of I-35. This was just a one night stop on the way to KC so we didn't do a lot in the area.
This hotel is just ok. It is definitely getting older and could use some freshening up. The walls had a lot of marks and stains, the wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. My main concern was the amount of hair I found on the sheets when I undid the beds. That just grossed me out and I was not able to get comfortable after that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Good breakfast, friendly staff. Room appears clean, but needs a good deep clean - under rim in toilet was gross.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Nice hotel! Greeted by cookies. Tasty breakfast! Pool is fairly large with a nice sized hot tub!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Hello Jen, Thank you very much for the review. I am thrilled our amenities met your expectations and you were able to enjoy them all. Thank you for sharing your experience and have a great day! -Eric Bridges, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Iowa Lottery headquarters :)

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Fast check in and amazing breakfast. If we had gotten in earlier the pool would have been utilized :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 26, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to fill out this review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We truly appreciate the kind words! Enjoy the rest of your week! -Eric Bridges, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

visiting relatives

Posted Jun 2, 2017
close and convenient to cracker barrel for supper
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Neil Diamond concert

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location
I had reserved two rooms. One room wasn't ready until after the concert, but housekeeping was there at 7:45 a,m, to clean that room the following day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
At 150 a little pricey but that was for 3 adults and 2 children with brealfast so ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Des Moines

Death in family stay

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: location, pool
Cons: no
Location: plenty of places to eat that is nearby
We needed additional room for family members who were here for a memorial. We booked the room for 2 nights and wanted to add an additional night. We were told that would not be possible due to the Drake Relays, which was 6 days away. Fortunately, the next day we were able to confirm another day when we worked with a different person.
5 out of 5
by Joseph

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
We were pleasantly surprised at the room and it's amenities for the price we paid. We would gladly stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet get away

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Pool was heated
Cons: Pillows are small; would be nice to have full size pillows
Location: Located off of University Avenue so you have access to DesMoines without taking the Interstate. Restaurants and Gas stations within walking distance.
Nice hotel but rooms are a little dated. Staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. Hotel sits back from main road which minimizes noise and local traffic. We were able to walk to two different restaurants which were both just across the parking lot. Used University Avenue to get in and out of the city quite a few times which is nice being able to avoid some heavy traffic.