Ratings based on 540 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: pool area was excellant, clean, warm, kids had fun
Cons: plumbing was so noisy, woke up children. felt it should have been usable, when paying for a room.
could not run sink water, or flush toilet while children were napping or sleeping at night, due to noisy, screaming sink, and toilet loudness, waking up the children. crib mattress had cut in it, also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

A relaxing place to stay after a long trip!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: peace and quiet.
Cons: Nothing could be improved. The gentleman in charge was very attentive.
Location: We ate at Taco John's nearby. The hotel was easy to get to.
We got the last room on the first floor. A necessity for me because of my bad ankles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Small but clean and updated.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: The exterior of the hotel seems outdated and could maybe use something to make it look more inviting.
Location: It's located right on Merle Hay Road, so you are close to anything you want, food, shopping mall, etc.
Don't let the exterior and the small size keep you from staying here. When we first pulled in to the parking lot. I was like OMG is this place safe? However, upon entering the hotel, we were pleasantly surprise to find it very clean and updated. It's a very small hotel surrounded by much bigger more expensive hotels. If you are just staying overnight and want a clean, updated hotel for a very reasonable price, this is it. I would definitely stay here again to save a few bucks. I have stayed in several 5 star hotels on extended stays and of course they are fantastic, but if you just need a simple place to camp for the night without the high price tag, this hotel fits the bill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Decent hotel and great staff. However, improvement needed in environment including random people hanging around hotel and cleanliness of the rooms. I personally encountered roaches walking around my room on two occasions. Thanks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from exeter uk

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Breakfast was rather basic. Cereal choice was fruit loops or raisin bran. Cornflakes would have been a better choice??
Location: Located near Urbandale and Johnston with a convenience store and several restaurants nearby
Check in was smooth with a friendly welcome. Room clean and comfortable. The room was cleaned every day and towels changed. Breakfast basic continental but quite acceptable. Very good value room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

It's alright for a one night stay

Posted Mar 15, 2017
There are no trash bags in any of the trash cans. And they charged me an extra $99 for using my card. They said it should reverse and be put back in my account, but that hasn't happened yet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Have stayed there before.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Like the new updates such a Continental breakfast. The one thing I was upset about was when I called to hold my 2 rooms I gave my credit card number and was told it wouldn't be charged to my account until I checked out due to we were going to use another credit card. Was very unhappy due to the fact this happened. I may not book at your motel again or recommend it to my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by JENNY, Hotel Management
Glad you liked our updated so far, and hope to see you back when it is completely remodeled. As for the charge. It was an authorization (hold) and not a charge. By doing this, your reservation is GUARANTED.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Acceptable for what it was

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The property is in the midst of a remodel. Progress thus far is adequate. The staff could use some customer service training. Recommend the restaurant up the street for breakfast in lieu of the continental offered at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by jenny, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to give us a review ,so we can improvise our weak areas. Will definetly take care of our customer service representative who attended you and please give us another chance to serve you better with our completely remodeled property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines Iowa Merle Hay Road

Nice Hotel for the Price

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The Hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We were in Iowa for a funeral from Indiana and wanted a nice inexpensive Hotel and this served our purposes very nicely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by daysinn, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us even though you had a lot choices on this trip. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see back soon.
1 out of 5
by Randy

Horrible service

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Beds were extremely uncomfortable and the A/C turned off every night at 11pm and wouldn't turn back on during the night. It was so horrible with the room more or less being a sauna!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to give us a review which helps us improvise our property. Really disappointed to hear about your inconvience during your stay here, but we don't have central control on our a/c units. They have to be controlled by the guest since they are individual room units. Wish you had brought it to our attention , we would have definetly accommodated you.