Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bettendorf, Iowa

Nice hotel - noisy heating/Ac unit kept waking me

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Check in mixup and problem with heat/Ac unit noise made it hard to stay asleep...nice place other than those things
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Suite Sofa Smells of Urine

Posted Feb 15, 2018
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Review of their rooms conditions - this one needs help and a new sofa. I am sure it is not the only one!!! Expedia should not recommend them.
Location: Doesn't look like a ghetto.
All the Expedia offerings in DesMoines on Valentine's Day were ridiculously expensive. We were tired from driving and the Econolodge at the Fairgrounds seemed reasonable given the day compared to the others. Your ad claimed it was 89% positive from reviews. That seemed OK. Given the location near the DesMoines fairgrounds; we expected dated and worn furnishings from high use and were not surprised it was a very small flat screen; but the king bed was decent and we were tired. At check in - we had to initial the customary statements that we had no pets (not allowed); and would not smoke in the room in this smoke free motel. That seemed like a good thing. Then we sat on the small loveseat sized sofa to catch up on the day's news. The left arm of the sofa looked as if a cat had clawed it and it did not take long to smell something was wrong. It smelled of urine. My eyes became irritated and remain so this AM. I am certain this this room has been violated quite often by smokers! We just stayed several days at a wonderful Best Western Plus hotel in Atascosita TX for slightly above what we were charged here that allowed dogs - there were no smells there and the place was newly remodeled!! The cost here was $94.07.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle Iowa

Disappointed at this location (room)

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Oh lets begain with the light bulb above the desk was burned out. I found a really old nasty sippy cup that had been left behind the safe (wasn't lighting up so figured may have had to plug it in). Unable to use safe due to the batteries may have been dead; I called front desk that night and he said there is nothing he can do until the next day.Also the inside few screws and black plastic plate looked tampered with ( left a note for housekeeper). The toilet seat was loose and kept pinching my legs.Found old adds in night stand, Ice bucket, black tissue box and hair dryer was really dusty, along with the safe, lamps, cords, much more. The floor wasn't vacuumed, not even behind TV stand, end tables, behind the mini fridge, under the sink, next to the safe, under(sides) of the bed wasn't vacuumed. Tables, dresser, sink, bath tub, mirror, microwave wasn't cleaned. Dust and dirt in dresser drawers and end tables. I took went ahead and cleaned what I could, I have OCD plus I worked at Sterling Hotel and Suites. Out rooms were way bigger, had to go up and down the stairs with cleaning supplies and room requirement items. ( didn't even need to go to the gym I did the stair master everyday more than 6× a day.) Sorry I have great attention to details and thats why they loved me at Sterling especially Sarah the housekeeping manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Center, Iowa

Great location and staff at this hotel.

Posted Feb 4, 2018
I've stayed at this hotel a number of times and was only disappointed once, when the room heater wasn't working with sub zero temps outdoors. Twas chilly, but ..it happens. The personnel are always exceptionally friendly and helpful. Swimming area is always comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast is always great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The people where amazing that worked there

Posted Feb 3, 2018
To help me get my money back but made my trip bad because that little bit of money was my food and gas money! I Went home !!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesomeness

Posted Feb 2, 2018
Price for our room was absolutely perfect. Hotel staff when first came in was great and the security at the front door made me feel safe for my family. Just an amazing hotel for our over night stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wi

Nice place, some unpleasant staff.

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Stayed here for two nights. Location was excellent for our needs. Passed the bed bug check, and was pleasant overall. The overnight lady at the desk was FANTASTIC! The morning people were absolutely horrible. If it wasn’t the only place to stay near our venue I probably wouldn’t pay the substantial price again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Missy, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory to your or our standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Staff very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are small but clean. We were looking forward to enjoying the hot tub and pool. Hot tub was very small and cold since they just filled it. The pool area is very noisy even when only a few kids were playing, it echoed terribly. Chlorine smell was overwhelming burning our eyes & nose just walking in pool area. Would have liked a few more breakfast options.... but for the price, convenience and proximity to fair grounds I can’t complain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2018 by Missy , Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback!! We appreciate your business
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Iowa

Would recommend

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Staff was knowledgeable. They went out of there way to assist my 3 yr old and I. Not many restaurants near by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Missy, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete an online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Friendly staff, comfortable bed, clean rooms, quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Missy Jackson , Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent stay and feedback! We appreciate your business