Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Staff was pleasant and helpful. Beds were very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

You cannot get any closer to the fairgrounds.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: almost everything
Cons: minor maintenance.
Location: included in above message
Staff was accommodating, friendly and efficient. Pictures make it look bigger inside room but it was what i ordered. dbl beds is what it is. It was clean and efficient. Curtains are light blocking for sure. essentials provided. Breakfast had good options. They have a pool and a sauna. Close to main roads if you need any stores or gas. easy access. walk or drive to fairground buildings. would go again. wish it were just a little bit less $
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Problem

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Problems with wi-fi. But real issue is this: even with staff being nice locally, there was a bigger problem with EXPEDIA, the hotel and communication. I made a reservation thru Expedia and at the same time called the hotel to see if I left a day early, if the bill could be adjusted. At the hotel I was told yes. Expedia said only if the hotel called Expedia to verify. I then called EIGHT TIMES over the next 2 weeks only to be given the runaround by staff. Some said yes, then maybe they should verify. Then I was told I needed to talk to the general manager. Eventually I found out that the general manager was a guy who visited a lot of different hotels and that I would have to catch him. More calls. And more calls. And more calls. Never got him. Finally someone said, since it was thru Expedia there was no give. HERE'S THE DEAL, FOLKS: Simply be honest. If you want to keep the extra money /profit for the hotel for the night I was not there--TELL US. COMMUNICATE. BE HONEST FROM THE GET-GO. Say you want to keep the profit and it's my tough luck. I would have respected that more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Des Moines Stay

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: Price, staff.
Cons: More choices for breakfast.
Check in staff was very friendly and welcoming. Room was very comfortable, quiet even though located on busy street. Breakfast was somewhat disappointing, but it did in a pinch. Overall, good stay for a good price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Review

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: close to reception
Cons: Easier TV operation, better internet....
Location: Close to the Fair Grounds which is where the wedding took place.
We stayed at this hotel because it was fairly close to by daughters wedding reception. In all honesty we have booked some beautiful hotels for less money through expedia. The free wi fi did not work, kept getting bumped off. The TV was quite the conglomeration of connecting a cable via the TV and getting a station. The bathroom was small and the base of the toilet seat leaked water. Our check in staff was fine, but she never told us how to connect to the internet or that it was on the card key holder. I think it is kind of in a shady part of town...just my own opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by larry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by csandbs

Just on the road

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Orbitz
We stopped on our way to somewhere else. It was fine for that purpose. It was pretty basic, but very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
Had a blast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jo

No Swimming

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
I picked this hotel because it was close to where I had to be for my meeting the next day. The pool would have been a plus, a good place to stretch out after a long drive. Of the 3 light fixtures in my room 2 didn't work, apparently they had bad bulbs. That probably would have been fixed if I had asked. The pool wasn't useable. It was HOT. I'm guessing 90F. I was only able to stay in it for 30 minutes, not the hour I had planned on. Management said they couldn't cool it. I guess they never heard of buying ice and dumping it in the pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clinton, Ia

Overnight accomadations

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Most everything
Cons: Refrigerators and microwaves in every room.
Location: Great to get to downtown area for activities, fair grounds next door.
The hotel staff was friendly, fresh baked cookies at the desk, breakfast continental offered but we didn't have time, great pool and hot tub, great temperatures of water. Really nice pool open late, wish more hotels would keep pools open later. Nice comfortable bed and clean room. Would stay again.