Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from des moines iowa

Old outdated dirty hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The room we stayed in was very dirty. Under the beds were very dusty and had trash under them. Lots of dead bugs in window sill. The remote did not work had corroded batteries in it. The pillows were either flat or hard. And had an odor to them. The fridge was clean. Overall was not happy and won't go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. The condition of your room you described is unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am retraining our housekeeping staff on the proper ways to clean rooms. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DMS

Good for business travelers.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Space, easy to get to
Cons: Has limited cable tv options
Have stayed here many times. Nice to have space and desks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to read you had an excellent stay at our hotel and that you valued the spaciousness of the room. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Nice place

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night, it was ok. No problems and very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I'm glad that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel without any issues. Thank you for your amazing review of our property. We are delighted to know you were pleased with your stay. Once more,
3 out of 5
by Nicholas L.

WIFI NOT

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Smaller room than pictured...very tight, but comfy! Bed was very comfortable, but linen was thin as well as bedspread. Had to ask for additional blanket. Lastly....WIFI was NULL and VOID. Upgrade to better WIFI service for price...so "free" ended up being worse than dial-up. Didn't get any work done on the computer, all by phone. Like the area, and Hotel, but can't stay there again and risk Wifi...and other hotels I've stayed at, the Wifi is Free and, as well as sit down breakfast available at same price. (Was really surprised that breakfast was a table in the lobby-yikes) Will go back to my fav hotel up the street. PS..Parking lot was an ice skating rink.....no salt, not scoop. Just a wing and a prayer walking to your car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that the WiFi and our grab-and-go breakfast were unsatisfactory. To uphold our company's high standards, we will look into ways we can improve these areas moving forward. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations in the future.
1 out of 5
by Denver

Upset guest

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Not very happy at all, I left my very expensive boots in the room and I know he sent house cleaning to go clean right after I left. They never called to tell me I left anything and I ended up leaving the town before I realized they weren't in my car. I live four house away so I am not every happy with them. I've had hotels call me less than an hour after I left when I've left something so I won't be going back to this hotel ever.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
nice hotel with kitchen. mattress hard , limited TV chanels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is good to know you valued the fully equipped kitchen, but please accept our apologies that you mattress was too firm. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by Gary

nice hotel with kitchen

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
nice hotel with kitchen
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased you valued the fully equipped kitchen in your room. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
5 out of 5
by Lacey

Convenient and Clean Hotal

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
We needed a place to stop on our drive from Texas to Minnesota and this place was very affordable, right off of I-35, and very clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing your experience. I am pleased to read our hotel was a relaxing and affordable stop while you traveled north. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, USA

Hotel and room, with exception to shower, was clea

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Staff was friendly but very limited. Stayed 4 nights and never had maid service in the room. Shower had no curtain upon arrival and drain was 95% clogged which was easily fixed by myself. There was also a late night altercation in which police showed up for domestic violence. Now I know why the price was so reasonable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review was recently brought to our attention, and we would like to take a moment to respond. We are encouraged to read your remarks about our friendly team. However, we are very sorry that there were some issues with the bathroom facility. We can assure you that your satisfaction is extremely important to us. Your comments are greatly appreciated and will help us with providing future guests with a great experience. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel nice to the freeway and a walking trail

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The hotel was great. It has a walking trail that goes under the road and over the freeway. A pond with a walking trail across the street. It has almost full kitchens with stove tops,full ice boxes,counter space and a sink and microwave. Only probleno is there is no oven. Also there could be a bigger pot for soups or like what we did was spaghetti. Other than that the most quiet hotel I have stayed in. Another issue is I just had a major surgery and you can feel the elevator going up and down while standing and waiting made me feel really dizzy. But over all a good expierennce.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
The team and I appreciate your constructive remarks. We really value your great feedback about our kitchens and the area around our hotel, especially the walking trail. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.