Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Lots of changes from old StudioPlus.

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Cons: Parking is very limited. I returned each night after midnight to find no place to park. The parking lot is full of trucks and trailers.
In the past we had kitchen utensils and dishes. Now you have to ask and have to ask for a coffee pot. Towels are poor quality. I have stayed at StudioPlus many times for a week and a decent weekly rate...not available now. The breakfast bar was not very inviting and coffee pots were removed too soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Iowa

great hotel for families

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: It didnt stink and was clean.
Cons: We took our bags out at 6am as we had to leave early and we were unable to get back in the door to take advantage of the breakfast/coffee bar.
Location: Lots of restaurants. Gordmans. University Ave.
The hotel room was bigger than I expected. The staff called me before we got there to ask if we needed anything. The staff was extremely pleasant when we arrived and gave us restaurant recommendations. The lobby was clean and the elevators, hallways and room didnt stink and were also clean. We didnt use the pool as it was too cold and rainy out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C.R.

Nice area close to hwy 235

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Modern bathroom, good coffee, breakfast treats in the morning. Quiet.
Cons: There was no blow dryer in the bathroom, almost unheard of, but you could ask for one. No shampoo or conditioners. No maid service.
Location: Very nice and safe. West Des Moines area.
Like a mini condo. Pull out sofa bed was comfortable, clean. Full galley kitchen.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Disgusting

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: We would not consider this hotel again.
Cons: Check into mold issue and smell.
Location: Close to several restaurants and shopping
It is obvious this hotel has been recently renovated and I would have to say tastefully redecorated. However, there was an absolutely disgusting smell in our room which made it impossible to sleep, mold growing on the ceiling in the bathroom and a huge water stain above our bed. We couldn't wait to leave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: I was able to have our family of 6 in one large room, with full kitchen
Cons: breakfast could offer more options- items someone with diabetes could eat
Location: Blank zoo, a science museum and history museum with easy driving-
The hotel was clean and nice and I am glad we selected it.
Comment from EPC
Aug 17, 2015 by Manager, EPC
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am thrilled we were able to provide you with a pleasant experience! I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our clean and comfortable rooms. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I felt the room exceeded my expectations

Posted May 31, 2015
I would like a bigger coffee pot. But great place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are pleased to hear enjoyed your stay and we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by brenda from Midwest

Would stay again

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
Great quiet location; but due to multiple events in DSM this hotel was booked & upon arrival several people were hanging around outside and the outside trash can was overflowing with beer cans, bad start but was clean the next day. Great staff, no frills, but the price is right. Overall no complaints, will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Seth from Marion, IA

Almost perfect

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
I would have rated everything 5 stars but the computer system was down when I arrived. I waited in the lobby for 30-40 minutes until I could even check in. I'm not one to complain, I just had a long day and all I wanted to do was get in and lay down. The staff was very friendly however and I understood it was not their fault. If it wasn't for the computer system snafu, I'd have had a completely pleasant stay. I'm sure this doesn't happen all the time, just wanted to give my complete honest opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear about the delay at check-in due to systems being down. Still, I am glad that you had a pleasant stay overall. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Felicia from Waterloo, Iowa

Not what I was promised but ...

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
I looked on the site for hotels that had smoking rooms. I found the Extended Stay. If I was looking for a non-smoking room I would have stayed in a closer hotel. The Extended Stay called the night before our group was to check in, it was at this time I was told there are no smoking rooms at that facility. I feel as though I did not receive what I paid for. Since I paid for the room in advance there was no refund so I could not change hotels without losing over $100.oo so I was stuck. The room was very nice, it just wasn't what I asked for
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear you were misinformed about our non-smoking hotel. In response to your feedback, I'm making efforts to make sure our booking partners are receiving correct information about our hotel. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Not great but not bad for the price!

Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for 4 nights for a concert in the area and I saw this place didn't have great reviews but it was perfect for location and price, the staff isint very friendly and don't make you feel very welcome. The room wasn't to bad, cleaner then I was expecting. The rooms around me were very loud and showed that the walls were very thin. I could hear the whole conversation of the people next to me and above me. I saw they had vending machines so I got some one dollar bills to use for them, come to find out they don't take one dollar bills. No big deal prices for items were $1.35 so I couldent use change very easily with out having just the right amount. The room itself smelled fine but all the hallways and entrances smelt very odd. The room was very easily accessible though which is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear about the noise and service issues you experienced. Please accept my apology. In response to your feedback, we are retraining our staff to ensure that each guest has a pleasant and welcoming experience. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.