Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Downtown Des Monies

Nice hotel close to baconfest

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Only reason why we booked this room was because it was close to baconfest and it had a bar. As soon as we got back to the rooms we went to the bar and was refused service in a RUDE WAY from the bar tender. Will never stay here again and will tell others about the bar tender.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eh. Watch your credit card statement.

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
My credit card was charged the full room price even though it was paid in full ahead of time through hotels.com.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am incredibly sorry to hear about the accounting issue you experienced. I can imagine how frustrating that may have been, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that caused you. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you in the future, so please keep us in mind for future accommodation needs. Sincerely, GretchenT81
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recommended

Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
Always solid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the five star recommendation. It is nice to know that you had a pleasant experience staying at the Holiday Inn Downtown Mercy Campus in Des Moines. Please keep us in mind for future travel needs. We would love to be of service to you again. Sincerely, GretchenT81
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to offer your five star rating regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Des Moines. Please keep us in mind for future travel needs, and thank you so much for your business. Sincerely, GretchenT81
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us. We would love to be of service to you again in the future if you return to Des Moines, so please keep us in mind for future accommodation needs. Sincerely, GretchenT81
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super friendly staff!

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for a race in town. I enjoyed the hotel very much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your race went well, too. Please visit us again if you return to Des Moines as we would love to welcome you as our guest again. Thank you for your business and your review. Sincerely, GretchenT81
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
I found Des Moines a nice place to visit but once is enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the city of Des Moines. Our city is ever changing and evolving, so hopefully you'll reconsider visiting us in the future. Whether or not we are so lucky as to have you back, we wish you continued safe and happy travels. Thank you so much for your business and your review. Sincerely, GretchenT81
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Close to downtown

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Event center, concerts, bars and restaurants are close by. Downtown business district would be too far by foot.
Nice hotel to stay at with friendly staff. Not too many hotel amenities, but it's priced right. Very close to downtown event centers, bars, and restaurants. Onsite restaurant has decent food at decent price. Room and elevator/hallway areas need some renovating. Restaurant at top floor/tower is awesome with great views at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Erik, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. It is wonderful to know that our location, our staff, the restaurant and the value were all positives during your visit. We greatly appreciate your business and thank you as well for sharing a thorough review of your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future, so please keep us in mind for return visits. Sincerely, GretchenT81
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate you taking the time to offer your five star rating regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Mercy Campus. We would love to have the privilege of having you as our guest again in the future if you return to the area, so please keep us in mind. Sincerely, GretchenT81
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from des moines

Good place to hang

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Close to event center and interstate
Hotel is a good place with some amenities that fit great. Rooms need a little updating and some better cleaning. Parking can be a pain if you're here for an event. However, booking events here is sweet!! Bar and restaurant are good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear erik, Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased that you found our location to be convenient and enjoyed our restaurant and bar along with other amenities. I appreciate your input in regards to your guest room and have shared this with our Housekeeping Director for review. Please keep us in mind for future travel needs as we would love to have you as our guest again. Sincerely, GretchenT81