Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Disappointed

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Location (Picked this hotel because of it's location of where I needed to be very early in the morning). Nice pool for the kids to swim.
Cons: rooms need updating for the price and some sort of sound proofing.
Rooms are overpriced....need updating We could hear everything that was going on in the room next to us at 3am in the morning
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear disappointed, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to offer a review of your stay with us. I greatly appreciate the feedback and have shared your comments with management for consideration.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Jeffry from Kansas

Nice, clean, appropriate.

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
The room was clean and appropriately appointed. The hotel was in a good location to visit our student at Drake, while still close to downtown, while not being exactly downtown itself. The service was good. This hotel is good at being what it is; a mid-price hotel. It is not luxurious, but it is not sketchy, either. I would certainly stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Jeffry, Thank you for taking the time to offer a thorough review of your stay with us. I am glad you were pleased with our hotel and service and that our location was convenient for you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in town. We appreciate your business and your review.
5 out of 5
by Frederick from Oakdal

I will stay here on my next vist

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
Nice clean quiet hotel, staf was great, Bar was fun, food was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Frederick, Thank you for the wonderful five star, thorough review of your stay. It is so nice to hear that you will visit it us again when you return to Des Moines. We look forward to being of service to you again. Thank you so much for your business and your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Nice hotel for price with downtown access.

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Nice place to stay for all activities in the downtown Des Moines area, Wells Fargo Arena, and all hospitals in the area. They did have shuttle that will take you anywhere/pickup within the radius up till 10:00 p.m. They are going through Re-model and if you like quiet request a non downtown view room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear SD/NCAA, Thank you for the wonderful and thorough review of your stay with us. I am so pleased that our location was convenient for you and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service. I hope we have the privilege of having you as our guest again in the future. Thank you for your business and your review.
5 out of 5
by DI

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Thank you for the five star review. Please keep us in mind for future travels to the area.
5 out of 5
by Larry

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Larry, Thank you for the five star review. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to have you as our guest again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
I was here for a family wedding, the room upstairs where the wedding took place had beautiful views of the city. Staff was friendly and we had an overall pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad you were pleased with your experience here and had a nice time at the wedding. Please keep us in mind for future visits to Des Moines as we would love the opportunity to be of service to you again.
4 out of 5
by T E from Norwich

Comfortable, but forget the food.

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel with helpful staff, but don't bother with the restaurant or breakfast. I had a caprese salad which should consist of sliced tomatoes and buffalo mozzarella, but instead was only a few small pieces of mozzarella, diced up tomatoes that looked like left over from mexican night on a plateful of lettuce drenched in balsamic vinegar. The sticky floor at breakfast was a nice greeting with a watered down apple juice and dirty silverware, finished off with a hair in the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear T E, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experience in our restaurant did not meet your expectations. What you described does not meet our expectations either. I have shared your input with our Food and Beverage Director so we can look into what went wrong and address the issue accordingly. Thank you for your business and for your review.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by GretchenT81, Hotel Management
Dear Cheryl, Thank you for the five star review. I am glad that you were pleased with our hotel and services. If you return to Des Moines we would love to accommodate you again.