Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa,oklahoma

nice hotel close to the college

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: It was close to Drake university
Very nice and quite and close to Drake. Good restaurant close right next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel; far from anything but Drake Universi

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Pretty standard hotel; nothing unusual.
Cons: I am not that picky.
Location: See above.
If you are doing something at Drake University (which I was), it's a great place to stay. If you are not, and if you don't have a car, it's far from more interesting parts of Des Moines.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rockford, Ill

Great hotel, very close to Drake Univeristy.

Posted Jan 24, 2017
The rooms were clean & quiet. Most everything was within walking distance. Drake diner was very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Conesville,IA

Was ok

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Close to Drake University
Cons: Electricity outlets, front door
Try to plug in my cpap machine and most plug in don't work. Looks like door was broke into at sometime, and just added a piece of wood and new lock. Breakfast was okay, would prefer County Inn's better. Didn't seem as nice as most Holiday Inn Express. Was close to event where we were going, so that was the only positive thing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location for Drake college visits

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Kind of disappointed that we were not informed of the early breakfast hours and we missed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Who thought Fox News was an acceptable choice?

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was fine except the breakfast room. We were subjected to Fox News. Who thought this was an acceptable choice for a public area? I almost lost my breakfast. If you want to what the right wing echo chamber, i support your right to do so. However subjecting your guests to your views is unacceptable. There are many centrist choices, ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN which provide quality journalism with no other agenda. You will never be able to please everyone. However a centrist choice is a good start.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
It's winter and the area is not the safest. They had police that came in and just looked around. The window was broken, plug-ins didn't work. Fiance wears a cpap machine and couldn't plug it in next to him because of the outlets. The TV didn't have any cable so couldn't watch it. The people who worked there were nice but the room itself was a disappointment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BED BUGS

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
BED BUGS!!!!!!! I am covered in bed bug bites, I will never stay at a Holiday Inn again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels