Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

What a rip-off.

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Nothing. Worst stay since I was a college student on spring break.
Cons: What couldn't? Zero stars. Don't go.
Location: Downtown location is fine.
The entire hotel is a run down mess. Elevators didn't work, no restaurant for breakfast, air conditioning was broken, staff didn't care and it was expensive. The room fixtures were old and in need of repair. Nice towels. Window sills were rotting. Skip this one!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Hot!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
There is NO air conditioning. Our Room was 85 degrees
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Air Conditioning was inadequate for 9th floor room

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Convenient to downtown Des Moines
Cons: Air-conditioning.
Location: Very good location. Lots of stuff to do downtown Des Moines. Close to nice restuarants.
Everything fine except AC. The hotel has nice downtown location. Staff was helpful and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
The hotel is very old but neat decor. It was very warm in my room. No air conditioning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma city, ok

room was hot, they transferred us to another room

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: one nights refund
Location: We were there because of a church mtg.
transferred us to another room it was hot we woke up ringing wet; was told to buy a fan. 2nd day they found a fan you had to stand real close for air. They told us to open a window; screen had a hole in it. Bathroom small, refrig. looked like it had mildew in it, wasn't defrosted at all. Was told the new owners didn't want to put that much money it for repairs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We left and got another hotel.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
I would not stay here for free. They have no A/C, the rooms are ancient and dirty. Old is fine, it is what I expected, but dirty was not.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IA

NO AIR!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
The rooms were so hot because there is no individual air units in the room just one large unit for the whole building. I did not know this before booking the hotel. They did provide fans but they were very small. The staff when we checked in were very rude to us however the night shift lobby worker made up for the beginning of the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Downtown historic hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2015
It is my understanding that this downtown Des Moines historic hotel has a new owner who proposes to return this hotel to it's former glory. While it still has charm it is in great need of updating. We stayed on the 5th floor for 3 days during our stay for the Iowa State Fair. Fair time in August can be blazing hot, however this year was more on the comfortable side, which fortunate for us as there is no air conditioning in this hotel. They were happy to book other accommodations for us, or supply us with a fan. We chose to stay, due to the $90 per night. The sparce staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was in a next door parking ramp @ $8.00 per day, conected to the hotel by skywalk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No AC. No travel info. No area maps. No food/bar

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Great possibilities in this building. I'm sure it has a Grand history. Need to provide basic motel/hotel services. People were friendly but always apologizing for what was not available at the hotel. No AC no food, no parking, no hot water or hot coffe on the lobby, no sewing kit avsilable. Beautiful brass doors of elevator were very dirty. No travel info or area map. Very disappointing to see such a grand place fall into disrepair. I wish you much luck in renovating this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastern Iowa

Historic building downtown

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Room, beds, restroom all nice.
Cons: Air-conditioning would be nice. Information about parking would be helpful, we were able to park on the street near an entrance so wasn't a problem.
Location: It's downtown Des Moines, what's not to do!
We arrived late and left early. We were able to park on the street near an entrance, free overnight parking. We found the room nice & comfortable. Ventilation was assisted by an open window. Higher outdoor temperatures would have been uncomfortable.