Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice hotel but too costly for what you get

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Beautiful lobby, comfortable bed, Starbucks in lobby.
Cons: Bathrooms felt very basic. Parking.
Location: We did not have good experience with immediate area. Plenty of places to eat and shops to see if you want to walk or fight for parking.
I didn't appreciate the add-on costs when the room price is high enough for what you get. They wanted $24 for valet parking. There's no self-park unless you want to park in a ramp a block away and walk past several intoxicated people bugging you for money. All wifi is also an additional fee. For the price of this hotel I would also expect more up to date rooms (not a small tub with a shower curtain). Water temperature in shower was very difficult to control. I would not stay here again and would suggest Marriott get up to date with some of the other nice chains that they claim to compete with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
The check in process was very fast and easy. Valet was quick and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. Hotel staff was all very pleasant. My one night stay was made very simple throughout the whole process. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Des Moines area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Provided shuttle service to the airport.
My room was just outside the ice machine. There was an offensive odor coming from the bathroom and ice machine. It was not a pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Perfect place to stay.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Due to bad weather we used the courtesy service to travel to the airport and then a concert. They could not have been nicer.
I made a reservation for 2 adults and 2 children and at first they gave us a room with one bed. I went down to the desk and told them and they immediately changed my room to one with 2 beds. They could not have been any nicer about it. The valet service was so perfect. I like to have them park it so I know it is safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
hotel took us to and from our venue. very kind and courteous!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

What a joke

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Booked business class room. Arrived at 6pm and no room. They ended up putting me in a lower floor room next to the elevator. I asked for a rate adjustment and they declined.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan

Friendly people, good room

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Restaurants, universities
Everyone I spoke to was happy and willing to help or point me in the right direction. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Nothing unique about the hotel, other than the name and location, to justify the price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The room was clean, but bed was uncomfortable; hallways appeared clean, but with an odor; the alarm went off on Saturday night; and the staff did not seem to have anyone responsible for telling guests what to do; or when or if it was safe to return.