Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown and many restaurants !

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Great girl getaway weekend! Close to downtown activities and restaurants
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boring, old fashioned.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: The fitness center was clean & nice.
Cons: Rooms lighter & clean, more modern. Bathrooms/shower so small. Clean up outside area of trash.
Location: Nothing, the reason I chose this hotel was to check out the supposed attractions nearby but guess the town was pretty dead on a holiday. Surprised!
Needs updates and some modernizing, lobby is the only "hopping" spot with tons of noise & wedding goers. Restaurant closed by noon. Front door dirty with cigarettes & trash along curb & sidewalks. Rooms dark. Overpriced for what was offered. Went to a cheaper much nicer hotel the next night. Now we know.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M.

Nice hotel close to fair

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Came to see Steven Tyler at the fair! Had a wonderful time. The hotel was perfect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice hotel downtown Des Moines

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The staff was very helpful and great location
Cons: Closer parking
Location: Good location to downtown, bars and restaurants were within walking distance, wife went to farmers market on sat. morning.
Staff was excellent, parking was a block away, bathroom was small, room was ok, tv had problem in that the first night it came on while we were sleeping, it happened a couple of times until I unplugged it, they gave us a different remote, but we got back to room after being gone all day the tv was on. Location was good, we could walk to many good restaurants and other places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic

Posted Jul 26, 2016
I'll start with trying to understand the price, for what's charged you can get better rooms elsewhere in the country. It's not terrible on the inside by any means, but not worth the price. The rooms are very dated, it'll be a flashback to the 90s, even 80s. Old feeling and smelling inside, although clean, but dated. The lobby seems very up to date which made me feel at home. You don't get much of a view, sadly in. City this small there's a lot of construction around and it lacks a favourable view. The staff was the only plus side to my stay. 10/10, they will do whatever possible to make your stay enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel downtown Des Moines

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Stayed just 1 night. No complaints. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed staff did not help with left item

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Comfy, elegant
Cons: I could hear construction noise from the 25th floor
Location: it is downtown and near many restaurants
The hotel is comfy, clean and elegant. In March 2016, there were construction around it in the afternoon. I left an item in the drawer under the TV and I called five times on the next five days, the answer was always, "leave a message, they are not working now" and they never returned my calls though they asked me for my mobile number. I am hundred percent sure I left my two perfumes in the room and I knew where. My perfume bottles were worth $150. That was disappointing. Otherwise, the hotel was comfy with a good location. Price was $268 per day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami, FL

Very nice staff

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Logan was amazing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2016
All was comfortable. Liked bath products and the gym.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel- Great location

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Staff and Bedding
Cons: ? No
Location: Close to dining and bars.
Very Friendly Staff, I asked if our room and other guest rooms could be close and she was happy to assist us. I would stay again, love the bedding!!