Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun in the bathroom

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: It was a nice location and provided a breakfast voucher for an attached restaurant that was very good. The room to which we were moved was nice.
Cons: They could be sure that maintenance repair was accomplished and that housecleaning addressed details.
The door to the bathroom jammed after I entered and closed the door. Apparently it had been damaged previously. The hotel staff was unable to get me out after my wife contacted the front desk due to the Thanksgiving holiday. After about half an hour, the manager arrived from his home and was able to force the door open. The provided us with a different room and gave us a one night voucher for our next visit. They didn't clean our room after our first night, but after I asked about it, they took care of it from that point on. I was our impression that they had not intended to use the room they moved us to so it may not have been completely ready for occupation. The manager was very conscientious about taking care of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I remember you very well and am terribly sorry that you got trapped in the bathroom, it is quite unusual that the door handle malfunctioned as it did. I do appreciate how understanding and courteous you both were. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Cons: hallways are smelly
good location, near stores, church and ppl we're visiting
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Cost Effective and Convenient

Posted Nov 17, 2016
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel isn't much to look at from the outside but they have remodeled the public areas and all the rooms on the second floor and are working on the ones on the first floor. Ask for a remodeled room. I think the bad reviews are coming from people who have stayed in those older rooms. The diner next door is great and the price includes a breakfast at the diner. The pool looks like fun for kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2016 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will ensure the staff is made aware of the kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us in the future if your travel plans bring you to the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good value stay

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly check in was very smooth.
Cons: Back parking lot was dark and looks like they were remodeling the hotel.
Location: Very handy right off the interstate and easy access to everything.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Fav overall hotel but they missed a few details

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: In order: Ankeny Diner (and bar) attached, heated pool and spa, location, liquor store in parking lot and many restaurants in walking distance. Bed was good, new carpet was definite improvement from previous stays 2+ thru 10 years ago. Liked the remodel/updates done since my last stay in November 2014.
Cons: There were some crumbs along the edge of the box spring, bed table had a few too. Didn't notice until my 4th day there that the toilet had a man's "overspray" between the lid and the tank, meaning that the toilet wasn't cleaned between previous occupant and me (woman). No men were in my room, so it must have been there already. I've never had that happen before, here or anywhere else.
Location: The location is exactly half way between all my relatives in town, near the highway and major shopping, and has the Ankeny Diner attached.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly staff

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Staff very friendly. The restaurant charming.
Cons: Throw out towels and linen with blood stains.
Location: We didn't do anything.
I would have given more stars but finding towels and linen with old blood on them is not appealing. Staff was receptive and gave us new towels without making excuses. And the tub drained so slowly that by the end of a shower water was up to one's ankles.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconvenience with the towels, I will be sure to get with the Executive Housekeeper to assure this does not happen again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Overall very nice. A couple of cleaning issues but none that bothered me or my husband.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will be sure to let our executive housekeeper know to prevent any issues in the future. We hope to see you and your husband in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No refrigerator in rooms

Posted Oct 18, 2016
No refrigerator in rooms. You are offered 4 breakfast that have no meat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
We appreciate your review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isu visit

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Great hotel with lots to offer. Right off the expressway not a bad drive to iowa state
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Front desk staff very friendly. Nice updates.
Cons: Cleanliness of my shower and no pool towels. I also didn't like the fact that the continental breakfast was very few options.
Location: There was a couple restaurants in the area and gas stations.
The hotel had a lot of updates which my family and I appreciated. The room was nice the only thing was we kept finding hair from previous guest in the shower. The pool was nice but they didn't have towels by the pool. Overall experience was ok staff was very friendly.