Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, IA

Very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The kids loved the pool area. Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff was extremely friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be sure to pass along the kind words.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed there for an Iowa visit.

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The hotel was clean,but the support staff was weak. They failed to make the beds and provide us with clean towels one day, and had to get our own towels. Management was very apologetic and did the best that they could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
We appreciate your review. I apologize for any inconveniences you encountered. We will be sure to get with the Executive Housekeeper to ensure this issue does not happen again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Cons: Building needed maintenance, tub drain was very slow
Room and stay was good for what we needed. Staff was friendly and helpful, it was nice the Ankeny Diner was located in the hotel and be sure to ask for the vouchers for your meals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are under a renovation at this time which will improve many things about the property. I will be sure to get with maintenance to assure this are in working order. I am glad to hear the kind words on the staff and the Ankeny Diner I will be sure to pass along the kind words. Thank you
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Good price

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: easy to check in, nice staff
Cons: It is minor, but the bathroom had over spray from the painters on the shower tiles
Location: Adventureland Amusement park. We ate a place called the Leaning Tower of Pizza, which was very good.
They offer a free breakfast ticket for the diner connected to the hotel. The food was very good. IT is a no frills room, which is what we were looking for. It is around 15 minutes from Adventureland, so the price was significantly cheaper than hotels closer to the amusement park. The staff was nice, the service was fast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
I appreciate the review. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable check in experience. Thank you. Hope next time travels bring you to the area you Enjoy a night at the Ramada!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids, IA

Needs improvement

Posted Aug 21, 2016
The hotel over all needs improvement. The check in staff member wasn't very helpful. We had to ask for directions to our rooms. When we asked how late we could check in we got different answers from 2 different staff. We had a handicapped shower in one from and the water overflowed on to the floor when trying to shower. In the other room the floor was dirty and had paint spots dripped all over on it. The walls were dirty and damaged.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
I appreciate your review. Thank you for bring some issues to our attention. We are going through a large renovation that will better the quality of stay for our guests. I will be sure to bring these issues to other members of management to ensure these problems do not happen again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short Stay...

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Had a great check in, were allowed to check in an hour early. Renovations are coming along nicely. Fresh carpet and paint in room. Room was basic. But no issues. Didn't get s chance to see the pool, but did hear the hot tub was on the cold side. Only downfall was no microwave or fridge and ice machine was having issues. But it was fair week and we weren't in the room much, so overall not a bad experience for a short overnight stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok..not good

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Staff was nice and pool nice. Room looked nice and was supposed to be new but the bed had a huge dip in it and off balance, the knobs on tub wrong and burnt you, the phone kept going off at 5am. Apparently they have been trying to fix this phone and didnt tell us.and plumbing bad. Toilet was slow a,d leaking but they chose to come fix it right before bed and we weren't back yet, sprayed chemicals, used our towel to clean up, left supplies and rust can spray. Room smelled of poison. Seriously, it was 10pm!!! And to top it off, I get no discounts because I used Expedia..I don't think I will stay here again or use Expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff and the room looked nice. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay here. I will be sure to address all of the issues to ensure we avoid them in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Cheap hotel big rooms understaffed. Pool hot tub was dirty hot tub was colder than pool. Biggest problem was pool hot tub and checking in. 3 pm checking had 2 rooms only one was ready 2nd room wasn't until 7pm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
The first thing we noticed when we walked into the room was a rather musty odor, which never went away. There were 4 lamps in the room, but only two of them had light bulbs. The toilet would actually flush, on occasion, and there was no "stopper" in the sink.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs IA

Great place to stay with kids

Posted Aug 12, 2016
It's connected to a great diner. Disappointed the hot tub was closed but the pool was open. Hotel looked okay, still remodeling and repairing. Room was nice, not dirty or trashy, clean. Staff was extremely nice and patient. Not many options with breakfast but are able to replace it with another meal with certain amount taken off. Family of 6, satisfied.