Ratings based on 393 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K.C., Mo.

Dated hotel , convenient location.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel is set up strangely. Outdated look and smell. Kids will like the big pool in the center of the hotel. A big party of adults came in with alot of alcohol and ruined it for young ones during our stay. Beds were comfortable and rooms was clean despite the outer appearance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear of any issues your had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, VA

Nice hotel just off I-35

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Easy to get to.
Cons: Faster breakfast
We stayed at the Ankeny Ramada while traveling through Iowa in July 2017. It was really easy to find, just off I-35. The hotel has an indoor pool that usually had several kids playing in it. It is connected to the Ankeny Diner, which is where the breakfast is. The breakfast was good but took a long time to be brought out because of how busy the diner was. We didn't even have breakfast on Sunday because there was a line out thee door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
We appreciate your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Staff was warm, pool was too. When we pulled back the covers,our bed had hair in it. The hotel also smelled dirty when you walked into the side entrance, and the carpets had not been vacuumed in quite some time. We were disappointed overall unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
My only complaints were that the hot tub was not clean, the shower water temp changed frequently during a short shower from freezing cold to scalding hot and that the sheets on one of our beds were too small and did not fit on the bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doors don't work

Posted Jun 1, 2017
This hotel was decent, but not worth the high prices. The staff was friendly and helpful as much as they could be. I asked for a crib but got an old pack n play with ripped sides. My door stuck so half the time we spent several minutes trying to get into our room and got stuck in our room, unable to open the door to get out. I kept getting told maintenance would come but in four days they never did. Also didn't like having breakfast at the Diner, had to wait too long to get in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us and will be sure to assure these issues are taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and cheaper!

Posted May 18, 2017
Cons: Outside looks
Location: Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant
Although the outside of the hotel looks extremely run down and out of date, the inside is surprisingly clean and welcoming. Highly recommend for one of the cheaper hotels in Ankeny, IA. Plus note-- bed was very comfy!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Great Hotel

Posted May 15, 2017
The front desk lady was very nice when we checked in. Only downside was no elevators so we had to carry all our heavy luggage up two flights of stairs. When you book a room you can choose pool side or I'm guessing outside. We chose poolside just because we have kids. I didn't like that the pool was open until 11pm on the weekend so when I was trying to get my children to sleep you could hear all the loudness from the pool area. Which the pool area had a couple baseball teams who were staying at the hotel and they had beer in the pool area too. Nothing was done about that. Then there was a lot of running up and down the hall way. Some loud guests talking outside the room early in the morning. On the up side our tv remote wouldn't work do the lady at the front desk brought us a different one. Beds were comfortable and blankets very nice down comforters. No fridge in room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

centipede episod

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: hot tub
Cons: pests need to be contained.
Location: soccer tournament was fairly convenient.
There was a large centipede on my wall which I killed. I called housekeeping and asked for a fumagation of the room, but nothing was done. Otherwise, it was OK
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We do everything we can to eliminate the chance of spiders, bugs, flies, etc. and have regular professional service. I apologize for any issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northeast Iowa

Quiet

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The staff was very helpful/friendly/professional. We particularly liked the diner attached to the Ramada - made dining very easy: supper & breakfast.
Cons: Suggest that fan be replaced in bathrm (but did not complain about it - just didn't use it). Better placement of heating/air conditioning unit
Location: We were enroute to basketball tournament in Des Moines next day. We were not interested in other things to do.
Our room was clean, functional; bed was comfortable. Bathroom was clean, shower was hot. However, exhaust fan was obnoxiously noisy (but, it could be turned off without impacting lighting). One other oddity was the placement of the updated heating unit - the unit was digital, but it was on the wall next to the desk, above my head (I'm 5'4"). If my husband had not been there (6'1"), I would not have been able to program it without climbing on top of the desk (liability issue?). Once programmed, the heat was very uniform. There was a lovely, warm pool area, compact fitness room, and business room. There was an attached restaurant (good food) - for which the Ramada gave us coupons for breakfast (2 hot choices; 2 cold choices). We were only spending the one night, and it was a good fit for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
front desk very friendly. hot tub water was murky
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I will pass the kind words on to the front desk staff.