Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Visit grouphome resident in Iowa.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Zero. I got out of there as fast as I could.
Cons: Quieter furnace. Better and warmer comforter. Clean! linens.
Location: I go to visit someone who lives in a group home nearby.
Room was cold, the furnace was so noisey I couldn't hear the TV. The pillowcases were stained. The pool filters were not running but the pool was still open, thus a health hazzard. The bed was old and lumpy. The comforter was too light for the northern climes. The warmer, poolside rooms were all empty, but they put me in an outside, very cold, room anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We certainly apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay with us. We will be sure to address these issues to avoid them in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ick

Posted Dec 28, 2016
No housekeeping during our stay. Toilet didnt flush right. Loud people all night. Police had to come a few times. Hot tub broke. Old carpet. The place was rundown and filthy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Katlyn A. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. There was a medical emergency for another guest so the police department was involved. We apologize if this created a disturbance during your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Stayed here before and will stay again

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
There were several members of my family staying here for a family funeral, the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. The hot tub was not very clean and there were minor issues in one of my rooms but overall the hotel was great. They provide tickets to the attached dinner for breakfast which is awesome. Great food and huge potions! We left on Christmas Eve and had some issues with the manager of the dinner ignoring us but the staff was friendly and helpful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and will pass the kind words on to the staff. I will also address the issues you experienced.
5 out of 5
by Mario

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Appeared to be recently remodeled. Our confirmed Expedia reservation for king size bed did not appear on their records. We settled for a 2 queen size bedroom. Cafe/restaurant on premises a plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I apologize your Expedia reservation did not make it to our system. I am looking in to why this happened.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected find

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Spacious rooms. Super comfy bed..especially nice if you have back issues. But I especially liked the big roomy bathroom. Finishing up renovation but well worth the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass the kind words on to the staff and am glad you enjoyed your stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and safe hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Approximate 2 1/2" Black residue along bathtub wall edge and a black 3 inch hair in the sink, otherwise it was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs repairs

Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
The price was right. However, the screen on the window was broken, there was still hair in the tub, and the exercise room was out of service. This hotel needs some repairs!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We will be sure address these issues to prevent them from happening in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Great hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Nice to have a choice for breakfast. Absorbent towels. Updated lobby lounge and rooms. Helpful front desk staff.
Cons: Keep guests posted on what facilities, if any, are closed during remodeling.
Location: North of Des Moines - easy access to 35W and 80.
The hotel is under remodeling, but nothing that affected us. We had 3 families in several rooms; all of us enjoyed the pool and facilities. We were able to have a pizza party in the front lounge, with a nice long dining table. Desk staff were friendly and helpful, even giving us cups for our vending machine sodas. We also enjoyed the free breakfast (hotel gives out vouchers) at the attached Ankeny Diner
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I will certainly pass the kind words on to the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun in the bathroom

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: It was a nice location and provided a breakfast voucher for an attached restaurant that was very good. The room to which we were moved was nice.
Cons: They could be sure that maintenance repair was accomplished and that housecleaning addressed details.
The door to the bathroom jammed after I entered and closed the door. Apparently it had been damaged previously. The hotel staff was unable to get me out after my wife contacted the front desk due to the Thanksgiving holiday. After about half an hour, the manager arrived from his home and was able to force the door open. The provided us with a different room and gave us a one night voucher for our next visit. They didn't clean our room after our first night, but after I asked about it, they took care of it from that point on. I was our impression that they had not intended to use the room they moved us to so it may not have been completely ready for occupation. The manager was very conscientious about taking care of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Eric, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I remember you very well and am terribly sorry that you got trapped in the bathroom, it is quite unusual that the door handle malfunctioned as it did. I do appreciate how understanding and courteous you both were. We look forward to seeing you in the future.