Ratings based on 1,459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs, IA

Watch your wallet

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintenance, cleaning, supplies
Location: State Fair, Living History Farms
Used to be a good hotel. Have stayed for several years, but our stay this past weekend will be our last. Stairs to our room slanted and were not even, faucet on bathroom tub was sideways and could spin 360 degrees, kitchen had two pots and four lids, no skillet or frying pan, room service made beds and got new towels, but left no soap for dishes or in bathrooms, remote for TV did not work, no blankets for pull out couch, and we were charged incorrectly after desk did not provide a receipt at checkout! 5 Days after checkout and we are still waiting for that to be resolved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The staff was great but very nosey at nite people beating on the walls and jumping up and down upstairs. Great breakfast. It was very scary to see the police running around out side the hotel walkways
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning, We apologize for the noise inconvience and we hope that you reach out to our front desk at that time so that we were able to address the noise complaints. We work close with Clive Police to keep our guest save and that includes offers walking and driving around our property.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mn

It's where we stay when we go to Des Moines

Posted Aug 18, 2016
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel when we stayed on our way through Iowa. Now with two kids at ISU we've stayed a couple times. Always friendly staff. We like the pool and the free breakfast. The rooms are nice and clean and laid out well. We've never used the kitchens but they would be handy for longer stays. This place allows a family with 5 teens to spread out yet stay in one "room" together at a reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning Lori, We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

This is what my parents called "a flea bag" motel.

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Look at the picture, I should have known better. My room wasn't cleaned the entire 2.5 days I was there. Ceiling leaked onto my wife shoes. Staff didn't care. Cart stayed in for the of our door the entire stay.Don't stay here, it's a pretty low class place. I'm being honest. The staff looks pretty shady, they lived next door and smoked like sailors! I'm warning you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning C'Lee, you should have never been checked in in this room, so please accept my apologize. Maintenance and housekeeing should have place this room in out of order.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Terrible! Very dirty!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was decent.
Cons: CLEAN THE ROOMS!! This place has the potential to be a great hotel if they would just deep clean it and keep it clean.
Location: The location was great! Many things to do nearby and a lot of restaurants.
So dirty!!! I really wish I would have read the reviews on Facebook before booking. We stayed on August 11th and it was one of the WORST hotel rooms we've ever stayed in. We checked into our room and only remained in it for 15 minutes. It was SO dirty. The floor boards were covered in dirt and grime. The floors were clearly not vacuumed because there were Oreos, pretzels, and dog hair along the floor boards as well as all over the room. The bathroom had hair all over the floor and the shower had hair also. The soap that was given to us was already torn open, and the towel had a bug on it. The bed was poorly made and when I walked over and looked at it closer, the sheets were dirty! They were covered in little black hairs (I'm guessing dog hair?) and there was an orange stain right on the top sheet - very visible. I pulled the comforter back and there was a large red/brown stain on it. The couch also had hair all over it. I was repulsed! We went to the front desk and asked to switch rooms. Our new room was a little better, but still dirty. It was apparent that the floors were not vacuumed in this room either because there was pennies and bobby-pins spread throughout the floor - those would have been picked up if the floor was vacuumed. The floor boards were still dirty and full of grime. So were the outlets and light switches. Bathroom had hair in the corners. The bed was terrible - it sunk in very deep when laid down on and was extremely uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning Vanessa, Please accept my apologize. I'm really sorry that you got check in a room that shouldn't be in our vacant and clean inventory. I will share your review with our General manager and Housekeeping manager so that we can address the feedback to prevent this from happening again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent value, clean and comfy, for families.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: value price, clean, very convenient location for our purpose--dramatic contrast (price-wise) with the other hotels in the immediate vicinity
Cons: the breakfast could have some more healthy options -- it was mostly white bread and waffles.
Location: Clive, in a cluster of hotels next to the interstate -- actually the Sterling is hard to find, with little signage among the big chain hotels.
Sterling is an unusual property, as the units are in separate buildings of 8 rooms each, apparently constructed in the 70s and little updated since then. But everything is in good repair and clean, all excellent for families, less so for business. There is a small swimming pool in the center, looks nice but we did not use it because of rain. We stayed an extra night, in different rooms -- note that the so-called penthouse suite is actually a loft-2-bedroom arrangement; again, ideal for a family group. The lobby and breakfast room are both small but functional -- again, fine for families but not for business. This is very personal, not a chain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning JT, Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. I will share your review with the owners to see where we can make improvements in our service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Always great! Comfortable & affordable. Highly recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning , Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Value with Amenities

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Location: Lots of restaurant choices that are within walking distance (fast food, sit down, chains and local). Also within walking distance of a hospital.
I have previously stayed in this hotel. However, that was 20 years ago when it was brand new and under the the brand name of an international hotel chain. During my current stay I was pleased to find the exterior of the property being cared for. After 20 years things need to be serviced and they appear to be taking care of those needs (e.g., exterior steps to second story rooms have been replaced). I didn't have a chance to use the outdoor pool or hot tub, but they appeared clean and maintained. The room itself would be a 5/5 if not for a number mostly minor details. While I may over sensitive from watching to many episodes of Hotel Impossible(tm), I do believe there is room for improvement. - Vertical blinds on the window by the bed were not long enough to provide privacy. They didn't even reach the window sill. This isn't just a detail and should be addressed ASAP. These are exterior entrance rooms and there were a lot of people walking by the room at all hours. - Linens are worn out - Leaking tub spigot that went from a slow drip to a nearly steady stream during my few night stay - Add an exhaust fan to your bathrooms. Water damage to the drywall and tile in the bathroom area was moderate. - Ditch the $2.50 + tax bottled water in the rooms. - Establish a time window at the pool for adults only. Young kids owned the pool every night until closing, so I never had a chance to use it. Overall, this is a hotel I would stay at again. The value is very good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning AMG, We really appreciate that you took the time to write a review about your stay and i will share your feedback with our owners and management.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

This Motel could easily become a great place!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: I liked the set up of the rooms! The fact that it had a full kitchen was awesome!
Cons: The rooms need to be fixed up and the staff need to be more helpful and smile, customer service is not high on their list but it can make or break it.
Location: The location was easily accessible, close to the highway. There were several nice restaurants near by. They had a swimming pool
The rooms, if they would update and fix the little problems in the rooms, like cracks in the walls, and painting the rooms, I would have loved my stay even more. The staff was not all that great. At the desk, they knew we were going to use the sofa bed, but did not tell us we had to "ask" for the sheets, blankets, and pillows for it. Also had bottles of water in the room, however, you were going to be charged $2.50 per bottle that was gone. I have a two year old toddler, was definitely having to keep an eye on him for those little reasons. The kitchen was a big plus, that and the set up of the room was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning Lori, I will share your review with our managers and owners to see how we can make this hotel a great place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
nice place to stay. convenient. clean. affordable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Matt, Hotel Management
Good Morning Thank you so much for your review and we are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.