Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Was pleasantly surprised with the Des Moines Travelodge - it was clean, quiet, and located near the Iowa State Fair, which is why we were in town. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davenport Iowa

Room's from Hell

Posted Sep 19, 2015
1st room AC broke 4 hours into the stay called desk phone is broken, moved to 2nd room tv fridge shower head broken. 2 nights and no maintenance works.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by Ling, Hotel Management
Thank you for your information, we will fix all the problem immediately. Sorry for your stay, hopefully to see you again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

inexpensive for many reasons

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Air conditioner didn't keep up, not enough room in breakfast area. Our room keys were deactivated after day 1. Good price and clean room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Ling, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We will improve our service in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mn

Terrible facility

Posted Aug 24, 2015
No one at desk at check in after hours had to call for them. The room was dirty and smelled. Worst experience...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

wrong room

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: the cleaning lady very helpful and nice
Cons: ceiling falling down holes in walls update tv
Location: nothing really close by picked hotel close to appt
given wrong room then corrected to right room pool are has old sign saying no travelodge guest allowed but in fact they were allowed 3am no water available and again at 9 am no water made mistake and booked twice thought I received refund for 1 room after looking at bank statement don't think I did I shouldn't have paid twice after realizing this called within 5 minutes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
Learn to get the keycards right so they don't deactive
1 out of 5
by James from Memphis , Tn

Bad motel stay at Travelodge, Des Moines

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
Booked two nights , worst stay ever . Beds were hard , no sleep , a/c didn't work , toilet seat broke . Checked out after one night , called hotels to get refund from Travelodge and approved. Hotel's said it would take 24-72 hours for refund to show up on credit card .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

State Fair

Posted Aug 23, 2015
We stayed there for 3 nights, the first night, we could not get the TV to change stations, we asked 3 different employees and none of them knew what to do. We did get someone to come to our room the next morning and she showed us some wire that had to be rigged in order for the TV to work. The toilet literally "rocked", was afraid it was going to break off whenever we sat on it. However the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The swimming pool was clean, although there were many broken chairs on the patio. Ice machine was broken, but the morning breakfast was nice (could of restocked the fruit daily). Staff was friendly but not real knowledgable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurelia, IA

accommodating

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Beds were comfortable. Good breakfast. Nice variety.
Cons: toilet paper roll was was up under the counter in the bathroom. We ended up taking it off the roll and setting it on top of the counter
Location: Good location as we had planned to go shopping in Ankeny on our way home. We did get part of a day in at the State Fair before we had to leave.
We had planned to stay two nights but had a death in the family so couldn't stay the second night. This was supposed to be a nonrefundable and no cancellation deal. However, when I explained what had happened, I contacted Expedia and they contacted the motel who agreed to refund our second night. I was very happy they were willing to do that for us.
3 out of 5
by Vern S.

Trip to the Iowa State Fair

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on CheapTickets
We waited too long to make a reservation so there was not much choice. The hotel was old and needed some updating. It did not feel clean and it smelled like they were trying to overpower the smell of dampness. The staff were very kind. We were glad to have a room in which to stay after a long day of walking at the Fair.