Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Clean room all we needed did. Have kitchen but no cutlery or plates were we too supply our own ?
1 out of 5
by Jason from Waterloo

Hotel Nightmare

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was probably the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. The front desk closed at 10:00 p.m. and the non smoking room that I was given smelled of smoke. The room felt like a prison cell. I would not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We have a Safety Attendant that lives on site so there is always some one to help you if you have a issue. Hope you will give a another try. Sincerely Lori McManus General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Facility

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Clean. Comfortable. Nice kitchenette.
Cons: Would have appreciated larger bed pillows, mirror in main room, luggage rack.
Location: Quiet location! Close to shopping, gas and food.
We needed a clean motel close to an event we would be attending, on a busy graduation weekend in Ankeny, IA. Fortunately, we found Value Place at the last minute and are very glad we did! Our overall experience here was very positive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Lori McManus, General Manager, Hotel Management
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for, never again.

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
At sign in, I had to authorize a seks offender check. That caught me off guard. Then I get up to my floor, which reeked of incense. Finally got in my room which smelled like a 3 week old full and wet ashtray.
Comment from Hotel Management
by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves in being a very safe place to stay. We hope you will give us another try.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room ala cart

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Clean, came with fridge and stove top.
Cons: NA
Location: NA
Has more of a detention facility than a hotel. Mattress on a spring frame (no box). Said it was hotel policy to run a sex offender check on every guest. If this is standard, it's new to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry your stay was not up to your standards. We do run sex offenders check on everyone it is part of the safety here. Hope you will try us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Awful hotel, awful people.

Posted Mar 22, 2016
We checked in, didn't get the room I booked on Expedia. Someone upstairs was stomping around until 12am. They then woke back up at 4:30 am, stomping and dropping things. Very rude personnel, I felt like we were inconveniencing him to check in since the office wasn't open upon our arrival. There were people wondering the hallways playing loud music on their cell phones. The whole place smelled like burnt popcorn and toast. Overall it was disgusting and I will never stay in Des Moines again because of this experience. Shameful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2016 by Sean, Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Hi, Jessica. We're very sorry to hear you had a less-than great experience. We want all of our guests to be comfortable and happy. We do not have 24/7 desk hours but guests are never an inconvenience. We apologize we didn't have your exact room for you and if noise and smells from fellow guests were not properly handled. Please give us, and more importantly the city of Des Moines, another chance. We know we can do better.
2 out of 5
by carol from omaha

watch out for this hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
weird place, asked all kinds of questions that didn't pertain to our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Sean, Hotel Management
Hi, Carol. We're sorry to hear you felt uncomfortable with some of our questions. We do require all adult guests to pass a background check for the general safety of all guests. If we didn't properly explain that to you at check-in, we should have.
1 out of 5
by christine

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Listed above. Noisy. Unable to sleep so we left early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Sean, Hotel Management
Hi, Christine. Thanks for the feedback - it helps us get better. We are sorry noise interrupted your stay. In the future please feel free to call the staff at x500 or x501 24/7 and we'll see if we can help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ankeny

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very efficient
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thanks for the feedback. We're glad you found us efficient. Hopefully next time we can be great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Sean, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.