Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was great and our room was nice.
It was close to the Fair Grounds but not right there. Staff was very nice. Area around hotel looked a little questionable, but we had no problems. Just hate having to pay $100+ for a room we only stay in for less than 9 hours. But it is what it is and all hotel rates are jacked up at Fair time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too cheap of a hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2015
This is a cheap hotel that feels like a really cheap hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Motel

Posted Jun 27, 2015
It's was a good hotel for the price we paid for it per night. They say you get what you pay for you were looking for cheap and paid for cheap. It was a good hotel though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel central to everything

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: It was clean
Cons: Decor and amenities could be updated. Distance could be clarified al little more. Said it was very close to airport but actually 20-30 min away
Location: There's plenty of restaurants close by, inlcuding one right in htel's front parking lot.
Not my first choice but it was clean. Basic, good for transit, guests who are in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nichole R from Stanhope IA

very nice place and friendly staff

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
very nice will stay there again soon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan from Madison, WI

Basic hotel - clean and accomodating.

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed two nights to attend son's college graduation. Had to scramble to find a room in town after ceremony changed from an afternoon to morning. Could not add an additional night to our previously reserved hotel so we moved across town. We needed two rooms and really only needed a place to sleep. The hotel staff were very nice and welcoming. Location seems a bit rough but we never had any problems. No internet available. This is a no frills hotel and is priced accordingly. I stayed two night for the price of one night at my original hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steven from Elkhart, IN

Des Moines Villagr Inn

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
Not the best, but no awful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Recommended, but come prepared

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: Standard room amenities
Location: Great Vietnamese food across the street, close to downtown and great coffee shops (e.g., The Ritual Cafe); near the airport and a very nice park.
Overall, I would recommend this motel. The staff was great, and room was clean & comfortable. Also, I had probably the best night's sleep I've ever had in any hotel/motel. The 10% discount at the associated Village Inn Restaurant didn't hurt either. That being said, the lack of an iron in the room was a little challenging, and the lack of some normal amenities (e.g., shampoo) would have been challenge had I not brought my own. The presence of the refrigerator was helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

mayflower horse show stay

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was fine, no complaints for the little time we actually spent in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Avoid

Posted May 9, 2015
The room was terrible. There were cigarette burn marks on the bed spread. There was a stale smoke smell to the "non smoking" room I was in. Some nasty stains on the chairs. Trash in the corners of the room.