Ratings based on 1,800 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Excellent value for location. Received an unexpected upgrade as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

My birthday present .

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The staff at the hotel is very friendly it is beautiful when you walk in, the rooms are very nice very clean and we were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family and above all the price was wonderful thank you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rate reflects the experience

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Fishbones, and a friendly staff.
Cons: Light, music, more amenities nearby.
Location: Walking distance to COPA and Ford Field. Right in Greektown.
Not an awful hotel. It's close to downtown events and Greektown. Also a fine resturant 'Fishbones' on the premisise. But it feels a little sleepy, past its prime and isolated with its back to everything. Clean but a bit worn. All things considered the rate is fair.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Very nice hotel, quiet.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Awesome experience, would absolutely stay again! Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Expedia didn't send over the correct room information to the hotel, but the staff were very accommodating and offered to waive the valet parking. Close walking distance to comerica park and for field. Beautiful views from the room of downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Paul, MN

Very nice hotel, great staff

Posted Aug 19, 2016
The Atheneum is tastefully decorated and very well maintained. The staff were all very cordial and went out of their way to see that we were comfortable. I will absolutely stay there when in Detroit again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Great location. friendly staff, rooms cool enough even on one of the hottest days in August with very high humidity. Pricey but considering Kenny Chesney was playing at ford field. Great service.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Concert weekend

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Hotel needs to improve on their air conditioner system -- our rooms were very warm even when thermostat at 60
Location: Greektown , Casino, Ford Field, Tiger stadium.
We had a large group of rooms booked and overall they tried to accommodate us so we could all be close by and check in early
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Paper thin walls!!!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: The staff is great and the shuttle was great.
Cons: The walls are just so thin and the bathroom deisgn is bad.
Location: We enjoy Greektown and the Detroit Tigers games.
Hotel has paper thing walls. You can hear everything in the hall and the next room. A huge fight broke out either on our floor or one very close at 1:00am and my son was upset until 2:30. The toilet in our room ran all night (half flushing about every 10 min) and we had a view of the Detroit People moover that stopped and started every 15 minutes or so. Needless to say no one slept. The location is great for Tigers games but the set up (glass block bathroom means everyone is awake if someone goes in the middle of the night) is not good. My husband and I have stayed before and it was okay but we will not take our family again. Shuttle service and driver was great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and cozy. Room unlike any other place we stay

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Staff friendly and nice. Prompt when they assisted me to shuttle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to restaurants and ballpark

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Great room and friendly staff, would recommend this hotel to all my friends who intend to travel to the east coast of the USA
Location: Great restaurants and easy walking to the centre of town and to the river
The hotels location enabled us to visit many restaurants and easy walking to baseball park and to the river,had a great time in Detroit