Ratings based on 2,168 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Nice decor, poor upkeep

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Online photos look really nice and the main lobby is beautiful! Carpet in the room had multiple trip hazards (folds, tears, etc). Floors throughout room creak and are very noisy (woke up 9 year old). Two large pillars fill any open spaces within the room blocking partial tv view in living area. Bathroom was very ornate, granite, beautiful decor but again the tub made ungodly noises and was not comfortable for a 6'2" male
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Bathroom tub is too deep. Bathroom floor dangerously slippery. Room entry keys didn't work.
Location: Great location to Comerica Park and downtown restaurants.
Nice staff. Fair price for this nice downtown hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very short stay but excellent

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Very short stay. Staff was outstanding. Room was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit,mi

For the restaurants downtown a perfect spot

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Room was nice but no microwave, boring cable no premium channels and to put the icing on the cake you can't hook any devices up to the tv to accommodate the boring tv
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

Spacious hotel rooms in the heart of the downtown

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Spacious rooms, friendly, helpful and attentive staff. Free shuttle service around the area was impeccable.
Cons: The hotel lobby needs updating. The artificial plantings in each of the floors facade are dusty and fading and need to be replaced.
Location: Major sports venues Tigers, Lions and Red Wings, The spectacular Detroit Riverwalk. Variety of quality restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
This hotel sits right in the heart of Greektown and the re-emergent downtown Detroit. It is in walking distance of major sports venues, the Greektown Casino, and the beautiful riverfront with a 2.5 mile spectacular riverwalk. The bridge to Windsor Canada offers international access to more attractions. Our room was quite spacious and well appointed with a separate sitting area and bedroom. The lobby is bright and clean but could use some updating. Otherwise, a great value especially for extended stays in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Nice

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The room was big and nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location to everything we needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good downtown location.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Staff was helpful. Location was good for downtown events.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Concert weekend

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Stayed here to attend a concert at Chene Park. The hotel is close to great restaurants before and after the concert. The hotel shuttle dropped us off at Chene Park and picked us up after the concert. Loved the layout of the hotel and the room. The glass block in the bathroom is a design fail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for our casino visit

Posted May 20, 2017
Right from the start from valet to checkin to checkout it was a top notch experience. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Birthday week

Posted May 20, 2017
I'm a baseball fan and my bucket list is to watch a game at every baseball park. I booked the Atheneum because of it's location, best choice I made. The staff was amazing and helpful, met my every need. The location, well, walking distance to everything in downtown Detroit. I will be back, and stay again.