Ratings based on 1,949 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Downtown Detroit MI

Very hospitable hotel close to Greektown

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Very relaxing and comfortable could of stayed in the room the whole duration but so much to do this hotel is in a prime location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hated this hotel so Disappointed

Posted Nov 27, 2016
I booked this hotel for my birthday. It was a broke down suite. Paint was peeling, the wood was chipped! The rooms need to be seriously updated! My boyfriend stayed there in 2008 the rooms look the same! The Tv had to be a plasma! It was old and the picture was choppy! Just horrible. The bed was very very uncomfortable and hard! At 170 a night I expected the BEST! On top of that they make you sign a contract stating you can't bring your own alcohol in (your) room that you paid for! Only good thing is the bath tub! Go to MGM,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Excellent Staff and Location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Close to everything if you want to walk and free shuttle if you prefer a lift; shuttle and valet staff were very helpful. Loved our stay and would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Great location but needs some updating.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Tired and could use some updating.
Location: Near the stadiums. Attached to Greektown Casino. All restaurants of Greektown right outside the door.
Location in Greektown. Quick and easy walk to Campus Martius or Ford Field/Comerica Park. Room was large but strange glass block in the bathroom that shines light into the bedroom. Couch was the most uncomfortable thing ever.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great location, Walked to lions game and the thanksgiving parade . Staff was great. Bed was good and so was the space. But the hotel is dated. The restaurant was never opened but we ate at Fishbones and it worked out great. Would recommend
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary, alberta

A good hotel right in the heart of Greek Town.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
The shining stars of this hotel were the staff! Always polite and welcoming, and helpful in getting us wherever we needed to go. Curtis, the shuttle driver, was a great guy. Not only did he get us where we needed to be, but he was more than happy to give us a little insite to the city. The Atheneum Suite Hotel must have been a stunner when it first opened; but I'm not sure the rooms have been updated since. The bed was comfortable, and the bedding clean and always nicely made. However; the taps in the shower and bathtub were loose; the marble around the tub was stained and the shower creaked when you stood in it which made you feel the floor might fall out. We would definitely come back to the Atheneum; or recommend it to our friends. Fishbones, the attached restaurant, was a great place to eat and hang out for a beer but with so much in walking distance you wouldn't have to eat there twice. We think the Atheneum deserves 4 stars for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Nice room! Friendly Staff! I will definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Solid stay!

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Great location in Greektown. Room was spacious and I liked the "sunken" bedroom part.Bathroom and tub were massive. Loved the BBW Eucalyptus Spearmint soaps and toiletries. Staff was super friendly and welcoming. Decently clean.
Cons: Arrived at 315, assuming check in was at 3 (like every other hotel in America). It's at 4. When inquiring if early check in was an option I never really got an answer, just that their system was down. The friendly bellman suggested I wait in Fishbones and have a drink or two (I obliged!) but I'm sure my room was ready, I doubt they are still cleaning when check out is 11am.... Hotel was probably state of the art and top notch 20ish years ago. While maintained well (the lobby and bar area were being repainted/refurbished) it's starting to show its age with carpeting and fixtures being a bit behind the times. Hopefully the lobby update(s) are a sign of bigger things to come.
Location: Greektown, casinos and bars/restaurants- all right there within a short walk. About a 10-15 minute walk to Fox, Fillmore, and Comerica Park. Great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The staff was amazing and very helpful!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The staff and the rooms were great! The suite was perfect for the weekend.
Cons: The tv in the room was outdated and the picture was bad when we rented a movie.
Location: Lots of restaurants within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place to stay.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Great room, very comfortable. Excellent staff. Corey and the van drivers were outstanding. They made sure that I easily got everywhere I needed to go.