Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Northern Michigan

Red Wings

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Connection to People Mover, valet parking.
Location: Great for Red Wings hockey night.
Very helpful front desk. Upgraded our room at no charge. Great service. Room was spotless.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello Trudy and thank you not only for visiting, but for the posting the glowing five stars! We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon. Safe travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Best shower head ever, nice staff, small store inside is a nice plus
Cons: Gunk all over my bedding? Previous guests skin flakes or what? Cleaning the bedding instead of just making it look nice would've been swell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello J and please accept our sincere apologies for the housekeeping issues you note here. We truly apologize and we do hope to see you again on your next visit to Detroit. Safe travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Very clean with wonderful staff. People mover right in hotel building, very convenient for getting around town. Valet parking is a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello and thank you, Jason, for the glowing five stars! We appreciate you taking the time to post and we hope to see you again soon. Until then, safe travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Friendly Hotel Staff

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Clean hotel and accommodating staff
Cons: Parking is expensive
Location: Situated nicely in downtown within walking distance to Cobo, Renaissance Center, restaurants and sports arenas
Nicely situated in downtown near event spaces, restaurants and casinos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello J and thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the Motor City! We love seeing the glowing five stars and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you and safe travels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location downtown

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location. Nice big comfortable rooms. Access to people mover.
Cons: Clean the rooms a little better. Do some fine tuning with TV reception, maybe add a few more channels.
Nice comfortable rooms, people mover to Joe Louis Arena was very nice and convenient. To be able to crack the window to let some fresh air in was awesome! But room was not cleaned very well. Old pizza boxes left in the very tiny refrigerator, used plastic soda cups left in drawers, remote control had sticky food stuff?? all over it. Some channels on TV were a bit fuzzy and not many channels to chose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello Mike and thank you very much for the kind four stars, in light of your housekeeping issues. Please accept our very sincere apologies for those details and know that we have passed your comments directly to our general manager for her review. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Staff is rude and incompetent. Dining room was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello and please accept our very sincere apologies for your disappointment while visiting. We are truly sorry and wish your stay had been much more enjoyable. We appreciate the feedback and will pass to our general manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great large room for families. Excellent location,

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Close to all sites including stadium, greektown and the river cruise. Pool is old, could use a face-lift but the room was spacious and the staff were AMAZING. Did not love the buffet breakfast but was glad it was included because I would never pay 15.95 for it. I would certainly recommend this hotel and woukd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Ami, Hotel Management
Greetings and thank you for visiting. We appreciate the detailed review and of course the four stars. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon on your next visit to Detroit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eaton Rapids

Close to everything

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Hotel was nice. Room was reasonably clean and comfortable. Staff was great. Very close to everything and the people mover station is accessible directly from the hotel. Be prepared to pay the 28 dollar valet service or park your car a good walk from the hotel and still pay 20 dollars for overnight parking. We used the valet, and they had our car to us within five minutes of checkout. Be prepared to put down a 100 dollar deposit if paying for the room with cash. Taxes and surcharges add about 30 bucks to the total room cost (60 if you add in valet). The hotel bar/restaurant is nice. Food is good and reasonbly priced, but service was slow. Overall it was a good experience and i would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Greetings from Detroit and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please accept our apologies for any disappointments during your visit. We appreciate the feedback and do hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Had the 2 Queen bed room for 4. It is nice as not many hotels have 2 Queens. Plenty of room, nice lobby. Only complaint is hotel room wasn't ready on time and had to wait 30 minutes. Staff were good and eager to help. Parking was very easy and the bar in the lobby was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello and thank you! We love seeing the wonderful four stars from guests such as yourselves. Thank you and please visit us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo

Convenient to Comerica Park.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Clean. Friendly staff. Not too far from Comerica park.
Cons: Knowledge of staff on some things seemed to be needing a refresher. However they were all friendly.
We arrived to check in at 5:30pm and the front desk associate told us that our room type wasn't ready yet and it would be 15 minutes.mwe waited at least that and came back to the desk and were told it would be another 10. Finally upon my request we were upgraded to a suite which was nice but in my opinion, this should have been done right away. i am a ex-front desk manager and at any time that a room type wasn't clean yet after check in time it was common practice to offer a couple of complimentary drinks while waiting. We were offered a free rollaway but when we returned to our room at almost midnight it was not in our room. We called and requested one and it was promptly delivered but were told there were no blankets or pillows available. Overall our stay was joust fine but wanted to bring this to someone's attention. Also, one of the guests in our room had to leave earlier than us. I told her to go grab something to go for breakfast on the way out as it was included in our package but she was told by the front desk that we did not have breakfast so she left hungry. When the rest of us came down to the restaurant, I showed my confirmation and were given breakfast but only after confusion by the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Ami W., Hotel Management
Hello and thank you very much not only for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Detroit, but also for posting such a thorough review for others to utilize. Thanks once again and we hope to see you again very soon.