Ratings based on 1,050 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
It is really good, the room is very clean and I had a comfortable stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mc

25th floor restaurant is horrible!

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We had booked the crowne plaza detroit on Black Friday. When choosing the room option we chose the executive room which was to include a shower tub combo. When we got into our room the bathroom was smaller than most closets. The man at the front desk of course told us he would give us a great view, we ended up looking at the top of cobo. Sunday morning we then decided to get breakfast on the 25th floor. We walked in and the hostess had asked if we were there for breakfast (it was 10am) we said yes. We were then sat at a table with an ok view. The hostess told us we could help ourselves to the Buffett and a waitress would bring us drinks. Our waitress came over once gave us our drinks and we went to get breakfast. The eggs were over cooked and brown. The hash browns were cold and soggy. Then when we went to leave I asked how we pay. The hostess got our waitress when I saw the bill I was shocked. $31.00 for the worst Buffett I had ever had. Never go to the restaurant on the 25th floor!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Night at the Plaza

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to the Joe Louis arena.
Cons: Cleanliness of furniture.
Very disappointed this time. We arrived to find one lounging chair which was dirty and one desk chair that was broken. We had to call down to have it removed and repaired. Our bathroom only had a 2x2 shower. No tub. Valet parking was an extra 34.00 fee only to find my car had been parked outside for the evening. We thought it was going into the parking garage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by fdsupervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Katie Front Desk Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very nice! Only five minute walk to The Joe !

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Very nice staff. Had a great meal in the pub before the game.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Jennifer D, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel. Thank you for taking the time out to complete our review and we hope you will return in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, Ontario

Just OK

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location is great
Cons: All hotels need to offer breakfast and free parking - that is a bare minimum in this day and age.
Location: Next to the convention centre and near downtown emenities.
Room was small for the price but it was a great view. Did not like the extra $50 to park my car for 2 nights. Plus no breakfast included.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Jennifer D, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our review. I certainly understand your concerns. As to our breakfast and valet these are services that we provide to all our guest and yes at a fee. We however do offer several different packages that include both breakfast and also valet. We also do have our concierge lounge that is provided for all our IHG gold platinum and elite members which daily has breakfast snacks as well as a drinks and hors d'oeuvre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel, fantastic staff

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Highly recommended, great for Lions games! Easily walkable and close to the border.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by fdsupervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you next time you're downtown Detroit! Katie Front Desk Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NFL Lions game

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Great location for Lions game, easy to get in and out. Will stay again .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by fdsupervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you next time you're downtown Detroit! Katie Front Desk Supervisor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good location bad experience

Posted Nov 21, 2016
No one helped get bags from car and we had to pay $25 to park. Our door was knocked on 3x before 10am Sunday. No one cared
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel with a great river view

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Great Location, near the river and you can walk to many great restaurants.
Cons: The furniture in the dining room was dirty and worn. The restaurant on the 25th floor has great views, the buffet and service was mediocre at best.
Location: We had dinner across the street at the London Chop House... it was incredible, great food and music. Cobo Hall and the riverwalk close by.
Was hoping for a Crowne Plaza "Ponthatrain" experience only to find it to be closer to a Holiday Inn. The windows offer some great views but were dirty.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Adequate and a great location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
the hotel is in a great location, safe and comfortable