Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fowlerville, MI

Too much hype.

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The bed was sagging toward the middle. Several channels on the tv were stuck and couldn't be watched. The towels in the bathroom were small and rough. Overall a disappointing stay for the claims that the rooms were renovated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Novi

Ruined My Entire Vacation. STAY AWAY FAR AWAY!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing, Smelled like smoke. Stains on the sheets and pillows.
Cons: Knock the building down and start from scratch. Everything from the staff to the outdated color of the walls needs to be improved.
Horrible Experience. Stay Away. - Reserved an Executive Room with a King size bed and when we arrived there were two queen sized beds, cigarette ash on the tables, stains on the sheets and the entire room smelled awful . The staff were not helpful. They were having their private party in the lobby celebrating the new year. I told them that the room was filthy and described that there had been a mistake with the room configuration and I was rudely told that they're booked. To take the room or leave it. I left it. They still charged for a full night stay even though I was there for less than two minutes staring at the disgusting hell hole they called the "Executive Room" At the desk they had told me that they would not charge me for the stay yet this morning they charged me $168. I had to find a more decent hotel twenty miles away because all nearby hotels were booked up. Missed Dinner reservations, missed two important events planned for that night. Pretty much ruined my entire New Year's Celebration.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2017 by Eliza R., Hotel Management
Dear Jackie, Thank you for your feedback. Since you had a poor experience, I decided to investigate this issue a bit further and noticed that you originally booked the room through a third party on New Years Eve with a Double Double Executive room (which you may have noticed on your email confirmation from the third party) which is 2 full sized beds with either a patio or balcony feature since we were sold out of King rooms. However, there was a request noted into your reservation added from the third party that your preference was for a king bed. Although, we would love to honor all requests, we cannot guarantee any requests as it is based on availabilty, and we were sold out of king rooms. If we had the availabilty we would have honored your request and moved you to a king room with no issue. For this reason, my front desk team had notified me if they could issue a full refund back to you and of course I agreed with them and they followed through as so with the third party payment process. After your departure the same night, I happened to be there when you called back about the refund process and my front desk associate had given you instruction on how to call the third party to notify them that they must issue you a full refund since our hotel approved on this matter and you paid directly through them and not us. If you still have not received your full refund, please contact the third party again and notify them they must release a full credit immediately. However, I apologize for your experience overall and have notified our housekeeping team on the cleanliness of the room. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact us directly. Thank you! Warm Regards, Eliza Rodriguez Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Old, dirty, run-down hotel.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Blood on sheets, strong smell of chlorine in lobby, paint splatter in everything, dirty bathroom floor, everything wall mounted is loose, broken thermostat, trash in hallway, construction material left around, elevator broken, ugly rooms, hot tub broken all days, no major renovations since 80's, cheap furniture and decorations, loud fan on room heater.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

If you've seen "The Shining"...

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The property itself is a bit run down but once you're in the room, it's fine. Staff was pleasant & nice but didn't get my "The Shining" references. :(
Cons: More lively? Finish renovations?
Location: Close to a major mall and a lot of chain restaurants and indoor amusement park/trampoline place.
Stayed there over the Thanksgiving holiday near family in the area. Perhaps because of the holiday, perhaps because parts of it are under renovation, perhaps because it's just an average hotel, the place was barren, devoid of guests (maybe one couple I saw over Wednesday and Thursday) that I thought I had been transported to Estes Park and I was at the hotel where "The Shining" took place. Luckily, I did not run into any creepy twins nor an odd butler named Delbert, and unluckily, no lady greeted me at the shower. But the place was empty enough that I could've rode my Big Wheel all over the halls and nobody would have noticed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Eliza R., Hotel Management
Dear Ted, Thank you for staying with us! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the free ample breakfast on Thanksgiving, friendly staff, close parking, guest rooms, and location during your stay! As you may have noticed, many hotels in the hospitality industry unfortunately have fairly low occupancy around this time frame. We are also currently going renovations to improve our overall guest experience, with fully renovated guests rooms, restaurant, and the entire property inside! We hope you may get to return soon in the future once our renovation is complete. Thank you for your creative feedback which I enjoyed reading! Happy holidays from our family to yours! Warm Regards, Eliza Rodriguez Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient to local shopping, food, etc

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Dark, drabby room in need of a fixer up. Under construction though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us! Although your room was unsatisfactory as you noted we are currently under a complete renovation and all our guest rooms and facility will be fully updated by the end of the year. We hope to see you in the near future again so we could restore your faith in our hotel and also so you may enjoy the convenience of all our shopping and restaurant areas that are all within a 3 mile radius of ou hotel! Best Regards, Eliza Rodriguez Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not your normal Crown Plaza

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Not what you would expect for a Crown Plaza. Hotel is old - carpeting is worn, hallways haven't been updated for at least 20 years. Updated bathroom. Beds are nice. TV experience poor - basic channels were fuzzy, couldn't get all channels advertised. Had to change rooms but this room was the same way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Eliza R., Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I apologize that your experience was unsatisfactory. We are currently under a complete renovation and our guest rooms and facility will be fully updated. Also our TV channels have been resolved. We hope to see you in the near future so that we may restore your faith in our hotel. Best Regards, Eliza Rodriguez Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The dining experience
Cons: Check in
Location: Close to shopping and restaurants
Overall this was a great place to stay. It started off with one of the slowest check ins ever but improved every moment after that. Great staff in both the dining room and breakfast deli.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Eliza, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our staff and stay. We hope to see you soon again! Best, Eliza Rodriguez Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Nice stay for the weekend. If I'm in the area again I'll look there first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Eliza, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful review! We are glad you enjoyed your weekend with us and really hope to see you soon again! Best, Eliza Rodriguez Front Office Manager