Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice Hotel Downtown

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Location, convenience to The People Mover, and the view
Cons: Signage, directions through the Renaissance Center, maintain elevators
Location: Cobo Hall (NAIAS) was just a couple of stops on The People Mover
Hotel is nice enough and the higher floors have great views., but layout of the hotel in the Renaissance Center is confusing. The rooms are frankly a little snug, the toilet ran all night, and the elevators were a little clunky. Unfortunately we had a handicapped room which meant that the bathroom sink was in the room rather than in the bath and further contributed to the room feeling a little cramped. Usually we've stayed across the street at the Courtyard but stayed at the "upscale" Marriott because of a special rate. Next time, frankly, we'll go back to the Courtyard as we were much happier there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Beautiful hotel. Great amenities. Located downtown on Riverwalk with access to the Peoplemover at the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harper Woods

Enjoyed a Beautiful View in Comfort

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Although we live about 10 miles from downtown, we decided to experience a night in downtown Detroit to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was well worth the decision. Our room with the river view was just as it was pictured and described. Also, the convenience of restaurants within the Renaissance bldg. and nearby was easily accessible by getting on the people mover. Loved the experience! Will be back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Confusing to get in and out of. There were socks and shirts left in the drawer
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Outdated shower.... towels very rough . .. expected more for the price....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Nice Hotel - Great View

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Room was very clean. Hotel staff was polite and succinct.
Cons: Expedia's interaction with the hotel. The process was confusing (and somewhat lengthy) when I requested to upgrade my room.
Location: In the Renn Cenn / GM Building, where the hotel it located, there are plenty of places to hang out - restaurants, bars, gift shops, etc inside.
My room was immaculate. During check-in there was a mix up since I upgraded my reservation through Expedia and it did not populate at the hotel. The hotel staff worked it out quickly and I was satisfied with my stay. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Not happy

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Hotel staff were very helpful. Room was fairly clean, but not at all what we were expecting. We tried to go to the Volt restaurant for dinner but no one acknowledged us waiting for a table so we went elsewhere. Breakfast was included in our package, either in-room or at Volt. But, because there wasn't an in-room dining menu left in our room we had to try Volt again for breakfast. Again no one helped seat us. We sat ourselves, waited 15 minutes, still no service. Eventually I just went up to the buffet and got our plates. We also had to hunt down our own cutlery. By the time we finished our cold meal we still hadn't been offered coffee or tea. We had to seek out help ourselves. We could have walked out without anyone noticing. Complaining to the manger gave us breakfast on him, but seeing as the meal was included in our hotel package to begin with - it wasn't a helpful offer. I would not recommend staying here. My husband and I drove 3 hours for a weekend away, without our 2 small children and we both left frustrated and upset. My advice, find a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 14, 2016
I really enjoyed myself inviting staff very professional room very nice view of city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Overall is good except there is no pool in the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
The room was small but clean. bed was comfortable. Hotel check in was quick and friendly.