Ratings based on 884 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from grand rapids

Great Hotel on outskirts of Detroit

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: everything
Hotel is always very clean and workers are very nice. With-in 18 mins to casino and other fun activities. Rooms are very clean and workers are welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Beautiful staff very peaceful atmosphere and very clean room will be going just to get the piece and quite.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty

Posted Feb 21, 2017
I had to go buy clorox wipes and disinfectant spray to clean room. Room was nasty. The staff was very nice. I took pictures and plan on sending them to corporate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Very comfortable

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Restaurant! See above!
I really enjoyed my stay at this Marriott. I used to stay at a different hotel in the same area and I am really glad that I dared to switch this time. The room is very nice and the bed is super comfortable. Everything was working well and clean. I also liked the gym very much, and the internet connection was excellent all the time. The only thing I did not like was the restaurant. First of all it is far too cold, there is too much light to make it comfortable, the menu is very limited and it is very very expensive, just not worth it. Fortunately I found a few much better restaurants nearby with better choices at reasonable prices. I also tried room service but they never answered the phone, so it looks like there is a real opportunity for the hotel. I wished that they worked on this, as it would be much more convenient to dine on site after a long day of work. Despite the restaurant I still think the hotel is awesome and I will for sure come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

With updates could be really nice

Posted Feb 19, 2017
In dire need of updates but overall not bad for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderfully accommodating employees...

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Location; staff.
Cons: Rooms are in need of updating.
Location: You, albeit not within walking distance, are able to find ample shopping, restaurants and "things to do", just within this suburb.
Nice location, good staff and standard amenities within the standard king room with all the usual accoutrements (nice sized pool, fitness center, ample parking, free Wi-Fi AND the latest TV boosters that allows for access to Netflix, among others apps, through the TV without having to bring you own equipment. Very nice surprise!) Bed was just a bit to soft and old style (about 4" thick and had obviously seen far better days) for my tastes, but it served the purpose. This location had not yet been updated to fully allow for USB plugs throughout the room but we were able to manage, having brought our own equipment. It also seemed as if the in room A/C units had been upgraded/replaced. Nice & quiet. - Sadly, although it's NOT the hotels fault, the only disappointment were some unseemly guests that also stayed at this location. It's sad when you return from a party to ride the elevator to your floor and BOOM! Marijuana. Throughout our floor. That is incredibly sad and very disrespectful to the other guests. The front desk staff promptly, while apologizing profusely, moved us to another floor and all was well. Can't thank them enough for that! **Special shoutouts to the young gentleman shift manager along with Barbara G & Carrina on the concierge floor for treating us JUST like FAMILY! You don't see THAT kind of service often! BE AWARE, the Expedia site "says" there is a whirlpool and sauna on site. This is NOT SO and should be corrected. Marriott.com does not list these items.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
We've spent two great nights there! All the staff team were nice specially the three gentlemen the work during the breakfast hours. Great service!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie , Pa

Business Trip

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location to my business meetings
Cons: having my room ready when I arrive
Location: Its near my business meetings
I would stay at the hotel again while on business. Friendly and helped staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The food area

Posted Jan 29, 2017
The food Manager Ray was very rude to me. I did not know that my reservation did not include breakfast on this day and it included it the day before and I didn't notice it until after I sat an ate. The way he spoke to me was very distributing. It's not what you say it's how you say it. He needs to do better when communicating with the public.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, ON, Canada

Nice and clean hotel. (Family with young children)

Posted Jan 21, 2017
We stay at the Mariott everything to go to Detroit. It is clean and the staff is very friendly. My kids love the pool and the food is amazing!