Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simplicity

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Friendly staff, continental breakfast provided. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Haven't dusted their rooms in a bit? Room service seems to be "top notch." Place smells like cigarette smoke.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid if possible

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Free shuttel to downtown and the Lions game
Cons: Cleanlines and improvement of furniture in room
Location: Stayed here night before Lions game
Hotel had a funk smell the minute you walked in. Our room was very dark, we had what appeared to be a bullet hole in the wall, near by there was a large red stain in the carpet...going to assume it was related to that hole in the wall. Both sides of the tub had mold, TV didnt work, Mattress was very uncomfortable. And yes...yes we still stayed here because it was the only thing available....now I know why.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Great for the price. Clean and safe and one of the best hotels I've stayed in for this caliber of hotel (I.e. For cheap one night stay). Only would said they should give blanket for bed that is washable (instead of sheets with just the decorative cover on top). Other than that- perfect!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Downtown hotel, friendly staff, free shuttle

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Close to Joe Louis Arena (1.6 miles), Comerica Park (1.5 miles) and Greektown (1.1 miles) so if you like walking then you don't even need a car.
The staff is friendly and helpful, and they also provide a free shuttle to downtown (within a 3 mile radius). They will also pick you up from downtown. Just ask for Andre. There's also the Detroit People Mover, which costs 75 cents per ride. An affordable hotel. If you need groceries, Lafayette Foods is a 9 minute walk. Bucharest Grill and International House of Pancakes are a 7 minute walk. Jet's Pizza will also deliver to that hotel. If you like walking, I would recommend the Dequindre Cut, which is about 1.2 miles (no cars). This will take you from the Riverfront to Eastern Market.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not somewhere I want to go stay again

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: People were friendly and it was close to everything. They also had a shuttle.
Cons: Everything thing else
Location: Perfect location to many many things to do.
The furniture, carpet, walls are dirty, outdated and in dying need of deep cleaning and replacement. The tv was broke and they did not have a replacement. Large stains on carpet and my husband had to pull the bed to plug in his breathing machine and there must have been 10 years of dirt behind it. The bed skirt had stains all over one side. We were booked for 2 nights and both morning the staff was siting in the lobby talking and on their phone eating food that was delivered from somewhere else. They were even overheard saying that they don't eat that "crap" pointing at the food that was offered to us as a Continental Breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Nice location. Pleasant staff Good breakfast 🍳 Helpful cleaning personal Great view out my window of the Riverwalk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet
Cons: Use porcelain tableware and metal cutlery instead of everything being disposable/one-way. Fruit on breakfast buffet could be a bit fresher
Location: My tip for dinner would be the Bucharest Grill, which is nearby
I liked the overall atmosphere. It's not a luxury place for sure - reminded me of a motel. There's space to sit in the breakfast room/lobby and outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ithaca, mi

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Fixtures
Location: Detroit Tigers
Convenient, great customer service, close to many attractions, friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Good Location, Bad Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice location close to downtown Detroit, but very dirty and smelled like cigarettes. Would not stay here again.