Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel in Southfield, MI

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel currently upgrading rooms, but guests not inconvenienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On site staff were excellent, room not so much!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Room carpet was nasty, bathroom stank like some one had just had a BM in there, and was not really clean. The staff were exceptional. The reason for my positive review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lansing, MI

Terrible

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The lobby and restaurant were nice
Cons: Room was in exceptionally poor condition. Requests to hotel staff to improve the situation did not result in change.
First, let me say that I as someone with both allergies and asthma, I am somewhat of a hotel snob. I don't need to stay at a 4-star resort, but I am fairly particular about where I will stay. Typically, I stick to Hilton or Marriott properties. In fact, until this stay, I have never had a bad experience with hotels under either nameplate. First impressions: I arrived on a Monday evening. Check in was pleasant, the staff was friendly. The lobby was under renovation, but still nice. Now onto my room... I checked in after dark, and the lighting in the room was poor, so the only things I noticed that first night were that the carpet was badly stained, and the sink in the bathroom was very slow to drain. The next day, I noticed a large soda-pop stain on the wall in the bedroom. I asked the front desk staff to remedy both situations. To their credit, they did fix the sink, but did not clean the stain. That evening I took a good look at my room; in addition to the carpet stains, there were numerous stains on the furniture. The wallpaper was peeling from the wall in about a dozen locations. The smoke detector was hanging from the wall. Anyway, the week progressed. I requested fresh sheets, twice, only to return to the same sheets (I spilled some gatorade, and as the stain was there, it was obvious that the linens had not been changed). A dirty glass (which still had water in it) was reset as new/clean in the bathroom. A second conversation with front-desk staff got me nowhere...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad description said it was close to DTW

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: The quality of this hotel is nothing like other Embassy Suites I've stayed in. Too bad.
Location: no idea
We asked for an extra pillow and blanket for the hide-a-bed. Phone call 1 said "We'll bring them right up." Trip to front desk 1/2 hour later said "We're out of pillows but will bring up a blanket." Call 2 (1 hour later) "We'll bring pillow and blanket right up." Two hours after first call I called back and said "Forget the request, we're going to bed." Never a follow up to our unfulfilled request. Managers reception - bar tender was very unfriendly and actually rude to some people. Snacks were potato chips/dip and salsa and chips. Remodeling effort was a disaster - ugly and partially completed everywhere. Breakfast was good and the workers were very helpful. Lots of dead bugs in window sills and corners of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I had a room issue

Posted Jul 20, 2015
My room developed a weird smell on the evening of my stay. Hotel security and a person from housekeeping also noticed the strong ammonia-like smell. The staff was kind and helped us move to another room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice,corner room

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The opening of the corner room allowedfor a beautiful view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

Ongoing Remodel Made This Hotel a Work in Progress

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Upon check-in, the desk clerk was on the telephone. When that call ended, the phone rang again, and, rather than letting the phone ring and attending to me -- the guest -- waiting to check in, she answered the phone and told me to wait even longer. No good customer service. This is an older property, with old furnishings in the rooms. It's on the old style of hotels with the huge atrium and rooms aligning with balconies. The breakfast was pretty good with an omelet station, but I probably would pass on this hotel on my next visit to Detroit in favor of a newer, more updated property.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Hotel was under construction at the time of stay..still a very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jason from Holland, Mi

Great stay !

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
We love this hotel. The staff is great free cocktail hour from 5-7pm with appitizers and the breakfast 5* eggs to order !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Christina from Westchester, NY

Still a good value despite remodeling in progress

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is still under construction/remodeling....so there are some "rough edges"....Breakfast bar has improved! Sofa beds are o.k for little kids sleeping, but not an alternative for an adult (big dent in the middle makes it very, very uncomfortable) Still a great value if you can put up with the unfinished look