Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

clean, quiet, helpful staff

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: I got onto I-75 in less that a minute in NE Detroit area!
That says it. Staff very helpful, room and site clean, well maintained. I forgot that all hotels don't have business centers (this one doesn't). Got a great sleep at a quiet site, in a comfortable bed. Good, individual heat/cool controls. Kitchen dishes/utensils in this extended stay hotel were delivered clean and wrapped. Convenient kitchen w/full sized 'frig.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Gracie, thank you for selecting Extended Stay America - Detroit - Madison Heights for your visit and for sharing your comments. We are happy that you liked our courteous associates, convenient location and the fully equipped kitchen in your room. Thanks once more for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Between Jobs

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Check in Lady was very sweet.
Cons: Check with the front desk before entering a room. The staff that is.
No Shampoo, Manager enters my room at 930 am to see if the room is vacant. All other hotels I stay in have a checkout list. And staff checks that list before entering.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that we fell short of expectations. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bring your own blow dryer

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
If you are looking for a true extended stay hotel, I would look elsewhere. The room, which was advertised to have kitchenette, didn't even have a fork in it. Who wants to feel like a thief when they walk into their room? It did have a functioning fridge and two burners, but what's the point of having those if there are no pots/pans/knives/forks, etc. The room was clean (as was the hotel as a whole) and it was cheap, but that was about it. Did I mention NO BLOW DRYER?
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that our guest services representative failed to provide you with how we operate pertaining to kitchenware. As part of ESA Fresh program, we keep all kitchen utensils in house, until requested by our guests. This ensures a clean, fresh product. Obviously, you were not made aware of this at time of check in. I apologize for that and will take corrective measures with staff. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Also, we do have blow dryers at the front desk, available upon request. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Jan 16, 2017
I stay here a lot, however this time I stayed with a friend and the evening/night staff was extremely rude and nasty! Got snobbed mulitple times! There was also two ladies each night we were there sitting in the lobby, basically harassing us as we'd come and go! I highly doubt we stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear that you felt our staff was rude. Our staff usually receives 'high' marks from our guests, so this statement surprises me. The proper customer service will be addressed/ Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Tupree

Great room

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Room was beautiful but our towel in the kitchen was used before we used it... Pretty disgusting
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am glad to see you enjoyed your room accommodations, but disappointed that your kitchen towel was not clean. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel experience ever.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
I've stayed in a lot of hotels around the world and this was by far the worst. The room was not clean, and the cleaning staff never cleaned it during our three night stay. We received a check out call at 10:40am saying we needed to be out by 11am. When I asked for more time the guy at the front desk was very rude, and said we needed to be out by 11am. He was even shouting at me, and threatened to call the police if we were not out at 11. We will never stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TO

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Affordable And cheap, they don't have room service. That's the only flaw
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels