Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B New York

Never again!

Posted May 7, 2017
Front desk staff sucks! I was told I could check in early since my flight landed at noon, which was a LIE! Had to end up booking another hotel room nearby for a few hrs to get ready for my event that I flew into Detroit for. Hotel claims to be a "smoke free" hotel but the entire place smelled like smoke. I my tub wouldn't drain. Room service never cleaned my room since I checked in for my 3 day stay. Room smelled like cigarettes which triggered my sons asthma. I asked for a room change, never got a response until a whole day later! And even then the new room smelled like marajuana! Just plain HORRIBLE!!!! Don't do it. Horrible experience for me and my son!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saudi

An unexpected encounter

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: Cleanness, staff attitude. Hotel facilities
Location: Not much, unless for business.
Attitude of staff is bad, non responsive, and maintenance is not available. Bed linen smells bad. Land line in my room is not working. Asked staff to make a paid call from reception desk and refused. Breakfast is just coffee and oat meal packets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Abdulrahman, we truly regret your disappointment. It is never our intention to lose focus on providing excellent hospitality and apologize that our service and facilities fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is vital as it will help us improve. We hope you will consider us again. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Nice Layout Staff Was Very Nice . Very Well Put Hotel. Comfortable Place I Felt Very Welcomed
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America Detroit - Southfield. It's nice to know you enjoyed your visit, and we appreciate your compliment about our facility and service. Thanks for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southfield, MI

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Needed facility due to a catastrophic power outage in the area. Staff struggled to handle the rush.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us during the difficult time. We appreciate you noticing our staff’s efforts and hope your overall visit was a comfortable one. We would love to be of your service again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Power Outage

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was fantastic.
Cons: More staff like those already there.
Location: It's located off 696 and Franklin. Nice area, but not walkable if you want to browse shops.
I made a reservation through Expedia and was received and booked in. Personally, I wasn't expecting much because of the of the circumstances, but, I was pleasantly surprised. Granted they were short staffed, but the staff that was there, went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The rooms were clean, fresh towels, little kitchenette, all ready for the long haul. I slept well, thanks to Extended stay...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am more than pleased to read our staff made a positive impression and that our location was convenient during your stay. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not reserve a room

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I did not stay because the location is in a bad location.
4 out of 5
by Markese

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Great hotelto stay at. Very clean.the experience was the best.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to read you had an excellent stay at our hotel and that you valued the cleanliness. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Noisy. With people running in the hallways and stomping above me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is disappointing to read there was noise issues during your stay. I will work with our staff on making sure that we do a better job of making sure guests receive a quiet stay at our hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.