Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Good

Posted Aug 21, 2016
A/c unit did not work that well, floor was somewhat dirty. Not enough outlines by the night stand. Window was dirty. Staff was very friendly and kind, great location. Wifi was weak in most areas of the hotel. Only one elevator worked at all times. Breakfast was ok wish there was more fresh fruits and the eggs were wet. The should have no pulp orange juice. Coffee was great and fresh every day. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Ash, Thank you for the review. I apologize that you had a few inconveniences here but I am glad that it was not enough for you to not enjoy your stay here. Unfortunately, the elevator has been down as we are waiting on the elevator company to come out with the parts to service the elevator, much like waiting for a cable guy, we are kind of at the mercy of when they get out. Fortunately, that should be soon, but thank you for bearing with us during the time of it being down. I assure you on your next trip in if you happen to be in the Livonia area we will have that up and running. Thank you for the kind words about the staff and location. I will be sure to share this review with them. Thank you again for the review, Chris Kelsay Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall good

Posted Jul 29, 2016
The room was too small for the two queen sized beds. The chair was wedged between the bed and the wall. The washer and dryer was not working for the whole four days we were there. Otherwise the beds were comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet lady was very nice. The rest of the staff was fairly nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Hmozen, Thank you for the review of the hotel. I'm sorry that you didn't have a great experience here with the room size and washer and dryer situation. Unfortunately, we had to wait for parts to come in for the washer and dryer and luckily this is not a norm here. Other than these issues I am glad that you did enjoy the beds and the cleanliness of the room and hotel. I will be sure to pass your comments along to the staff to let them know that their services were appreciated! Thank you again for the review, Chris Kelsay Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to highway

Posted Jul 18, 2016
It was a nice stay. It was close to where we were going. Only have one complaint and that is there was work being done to entrance sidewalk at prime checkout time. Everyone had to use side doors to leave. That should've been scheduled for after 11am checkouts. im not sure how long that job is going to take.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for the review of our property. I am glad that you had a great stay with the exception of the repair of the front side walk. Unfortunately it started at 10:30am and I am sorry that was an inconvenience to you upon check out. We just like to ensure the safety of our guests and of course the appearance of the hotel and it started slightly earlier than desired. Luckily however, it was a very quick process and was done in about 48 hours. It is completed now and hopefully upon your return to the Livonia area you will be able to stay with us and give us a 4 out of 5. Thank you again for the review! Chris Kelsay Assistant General Manager
4 out of 5
by Holly

Good

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean but needs updating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WPB, FL

Close to highways

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The staff was quite accommodating. The breakfast on the weekend was good and they have a decent size dining room.
Cons: They need to be more attentive to their cleaning staff.
Location: Town Peddler Craft and Antique Mall. Good restaurants close by
Overall the hotel was nice and for the most part, the staff was quite accommodating. The drawback was we were there for 3 nights and the sheets were never changed and the room was never dusted.....you could actually see the dust on the furniture. Basically only the minimum was done e.g. the bed made, towels changed and the sink wiped clean. The room itself was nice and the bed quite comfortable....too bad they didn't take the time to keep it up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else.

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We asked for a room away from the freeway, but were given a room that fronted the freeway. There was an exterior spotlight that shined right into the room, which made sleeping difficult. There was a hot breakfast included in the price of the room, but the food was poor quality with no flavor or substance. We will not be returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't expect good service when booking via Expedia

Posted Apr 10, 2016
They don't treat you well when you book it via Expedia. They don't feel obligated to upgrade you to a better suite when you book it via Expedia. They clearly told us "Since you booked via Expedia, there is nothing they could do to add a roller bed for our child in the suite which was promised to have optionally added a kids roller bed. Had you booked directly via us instead of Expedia, we could have helped you to have kids roller bed in your suite". This was unexpected. Reception staff not very friendly. I would not recommend it to any of my friends.
5 out of 5
by Suhas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, dull area

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Not a very exciting area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels